Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Tucci Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Phone issue pic

Had to link to another site to post pic because maximum file size here is 2 bytes. That's useless.

Anyway, please look at the pic and let me know what you think the most likely cause is. When the display looks like this, functionality is limited. Cannot place calls on hold, etc. Issues occurs on multiple phones across multiple port cards. Re-booting phone clears it up sometimes, other times it resolves on it's own.24 key phones and 48 key phones, all digital.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
It is a well established issue that the 56S system suffered from all sorts of data corruption due to the wiring going out to the telephones. ESI's fix is to replace the motherboard with a modified board. Before they modified the motherboard, their fix was to add several feet of wire to each extension connection. I thought that was a dumb move, but it does work.

I highly recommend that you contact ESI and see if they still have any of the modified 56S systems. When replacing the motherboard, you can still use the existing CF card so you will not lose programming.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Tucci Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Really. How much wire? And what type? Would it help to replace the cross connect cable with some CAT6 instead of the looslely twisted station wire?

I would place my bet on ESI not having the mobo anymore for these things.

I'll shoot them an email on Monday, just for hahas.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,608
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
***
Offline
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
***
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,608
50'

If you search on here you will find a few posts about it.

The cross connect isn't the issue so don't worry about that.

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
It really doesn't matter what category cable you use. In fact, cat 3 may work better.

As of last year, they still had stock on the modified boards.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Tucci Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Well, contacted ESI and they are of the same opinion that the board has likely failed/is failing. My fearless leader is going to quote the customer on a CS50 instead of the repair. Thanks for the input, guys.


Moderated by  5years&counting, nonameyet 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,826
Posts636,757
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
2 members (justbill, Toner), 173 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5