web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
I have posted a few times on this forum and found everyone to be great.
Racedog, I have read most of your comments and your sticky about software updates makes complete sense.

I have a 6x that I self installed - always been on 7.1.8.1 becuase of the lack of a support plan. Most of the phones are 9212's.
Phone lines are all analog and I have 4 of them into the system.
I am not a phone installer, but I am a self taught computer "guy".
With the help of the internet and forums, the install wasn't hard.

My boss has random problems where customers cannot hear him talking. It doesn't seem to be consistent enough to easily track by saying it is a certain phone line, a certain phone number, etc.
I didn't have the same problem - so I swapped my phone with his directly - Seems to still happen.

In my head, I am thinking basic possibilities are problems with:
1. Phones
2. 6X system
3. Ethernet lines from office to switch
4. Ethernet Line to 6X
5. Some kind of bandwidth issue on the entire ethernet system
6. Analong line from demarc to 6x
7. Analong line from demarc to phone company

So

1. I swapped phones (with one that I considered working fine) with no change.
2. updating the software might help (again based on racedog's comments)
3. Acutal ethernet lines - I am guessing these dont just "go bad" perhaps there is a frequency issue? unlikely.
4. Just a single cable to the 6x. also unlikely.
5. I just tried making calls from a phone while using 2 different bandwidth programs - Thinking that if I clogged the lines with data the phone might mess up. I would think it would be more likely to cut in and out losing data rather than just lower in volume.
6. Haven't really checked them.