Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#605828 11/28/16 05:17 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Any recommendations for a PoE switch with 16 to 24 ports, for IP phones?

Thanks,
Jim

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,965
Likes: 3
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,965
Likes: 3
We use netgear mainly.

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 75
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 75
HP1920 24-ports. netgear 8-ports and HP1920 8-ports for small areas/adds. use a managed switch. run vlans. qos the wan.

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Beware of switches with "green" features. Some switches will turn off idle ports. I've been told it raises hell with AoIP applications, but haven't heard about how they would handle a port that's powering a device. The good switches have a way to disable the green features.

I haven't the slightest idea how turning off idle switch ports will save the planet.

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
I personally don't like Netgear. They always seem to fail on me.

TRENDnet is the brand I seem to use the most for the IP camera installs that I do. The model used are TPE-TG160g and TPE-TG240g which are POE+ Gigabit switches. You probably won't need this type of switch for VoIP Phones.


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
No one ever got fired for using Cisco.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
We use Cisco

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by DND ON
No one ever got fired for using Cisco.

Yes and no. angel

You can't beat a Cisco, but most small companies can't afford them.


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
For smaller jobs I have never had issues with D-Link business class or enterprise solutions. Their WEBsmart switches are hard to beat for the money and can auto assign VLAN from MAC addressing on devices. Their power output is pretty good too being a big consideration.

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 822
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 822
We are using Adtran NetVanta series. Work well and support is good.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,824
Posts636,752
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 11
ramo 11
Toner 7
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 54 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5