Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#608142 02/22/17 05:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
A little background...
We recently changed telephone providers here in Chicago, from Birch Communications to GTT Communications.
We are running FXII, using VMMI 197/17E

Before this change, CFOS had been working without issues. Of course no one really uses it much, until recently an employee tried enabling their phone and it would not work.

Following steps we always used,
Get to CFOS
Choose LNE/INTCM
Set Line 09, but we have used others
Set number, Save

What happens now, is that we call that extension from another phone and LCD displays CFOS is active, I hear several beeps, as if it tries to grab a number but then nothing, until I hear the same beeps, and it just cycles form there.

Notes: We use to have 1:1 DID set up for all our phones, but in a cost saving measure we only moved on to GTT with a fraction of the DID we had before. The phones I have tested on have no DID, so I tried on mine as well which does have a DID assigned to see if had anything to do with that. On the surface no, since it doe snot work with my phone either.


Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,127
Likes: 13
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,127
Likes: 13
If I were a guessing man I'd say you reduced the number of lines to save cost and the system hasn't been reprogrammed not to look for the deleted lines.


[Linked Image]
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Should head to Vegas ;D
But seriously, yes, we had 350 DID, so everyone had their own per employee phone. Of course this was during better times (we are a nonprofit). This past year when switching carriers we were able to see the .99 charge per DID moving forward. Management realized that was too much for regular staff.

We had a contractor come out and look at our cordial system during the transition to make sure/test everything. Not having much issue (except for fax services under new carrier) with phones working except recently one someone mentioned call forwarding.

Of course, my line has its original DID, so from that I thought maybe it would work for me and not those without it but still no go.

Is there something else that is user manageable, that I can take a look at?

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,127
Likes: 13
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,127
Likes: 13
When you do the set line try it with just 9 not 09 and see if it makes a difference.


[Linked Image]
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Getting back to this ticket I have tried, just typing the one digit instead of 0x but the system just hangs waiting for two digits. Of course we do not have line 99 so it just hangs up when I type a second number after 30 seconds.

Funny thing is that I was working on a computer in another staff office [they were not in at the time] when I noticed their phone was on COFS (enabled). I laughed thinking it stopped working, so they have been enabling this thinking they would get calls.

Curiosity got the best of me so I went into another office to dial that extension and sure enough after some time I got his cell number (he didn't pick up and his voicemail message came on).

At that point went back into his office to go through steps and see which line group he had chosen when setting up but of course it doesn't show me the number when asked to add it so I stopped since I didn't want to screw it up.

LRR


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,834
Posts636,792
Members49,652
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
machinegod, Gtownpaper, Lazlo, devben, bubblegum
49,651 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
3 members (Curlycord, nlysc, Carl Navarro), 46 guests, and 34 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5