Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#61009 11/19/08 02:36 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
I looked but couldn't find a good post on the time slot subject in relation to the inter-tel axxess system. Can anyone give me the low down or point me to a resource that better explains this subject?

I have two Axxess 9.x, 6 cabinet systems (different locations) . My cabinets are about full and I'm looking to bump into cabinets 7 and 8. I really need more T1 interfaces. I've heard that you are limited to 128 time slots per cabinet. I've seen lots of posts regarding how many time slots different cards take and I'm pretty comfortable with that info.

The story that I've heard that I can't seem to find any documenation on is that there are 16 time slots per card slot. Is that true regardless of what release of software you're running?

I have T1 cards in my existing cabinets that are right next door to each other (slot1, slot2) and have had it that way for over 4 years without any issues. My other system at 2nd location has an open slot next to each of the T1 cards (to the right).

If the open slot is a requirement (so the T1 can use 8 of the time slots of that open spot), does that limit you to 3 T1 cards per cabinet? Can you put a T1 card in Slot 7 and use all 24 channels?

My understanding is that you could put a 8 port card like a SLC8 in the slot next to the T1 and that would be OK, but nothing that would use more than 8 time slots.

Can someone please spell out this whole time slot thing for me.

Thanks.

Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
#61010 11/19/08 05:25 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 908
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 908
The other guys will correct me if I'm wrong. This is how it has been explained to me. Think of Time Slots as concurrent licenses. You can load each cabinet to the gills. As an extreme example, 7 IPRCs w/daughter cards would be 224 devices in a single cabinet. The cabinet will only support 128 actively in use. The 129th device to go active, will not work. So the question is, if you go over the 128, what are the odds that the cabinet will need more at any given time?

#61011 11/19/08 05:34 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
If that is true, I'm in good shape. I try to keep the cabinets around 140 knowing that their is no way all of these devices are going to be 100% in use. Does the CPU count or take any time slots?

Thanks for the quick post!

#61012 11/19/08 08:33 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 241
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 241
All slots are allocated 16 time slots until you populate it with a card capable of over-subscribing the 16 (DKSC16, T1...). When you do that, all of those time slots go into a pool for dynamic distribution. In the programming software you can see the current allocation. Look under SYSTEM->CABINETS->RESOURCES and you'll see what I mean.

You have to read a bit between the lines though because a single DKSC16 will show it requires 32 time slots for non-blocking. This is because it assumes a theoretical config where each DKSC16 port has an SLA connected, thus using both logical circuits for a total of 32. Count your circuits and go from there. The 9.0 I&M manual has all of this explained on pages 2-17 & 2-18.

Also, in your ATM system, the ATM link to each sub-node has 256 time slots of which 224 are non-blocking.


60% of the time it works every time
#61013 11/19/08 08:57 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Excellent Info - thank you.

Here is what one of my systems says today:

cab - Avail - Timeslots for NB
1 - 96 - 207
2 - 112 - 208
3 - 112 - 240
4 - 96 - 152
5 - 112 - 172
6 - 64 - 0

Cabinet 6 just has a few SLC cards.

I'm assuming the fact that I have available that is good.

#61014 11/19/08 09:18 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 241
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 241
The available column shows you what you can carry on that backplane, the non-blocking shows what you would need in the worst possible scenario. Remeber the software assumes full theoretical load to calculate the non-blocking value. Again, count up what you really have and subtract the available number. That's your real over-subscribing value.

FYI - If you had more station cards than trunk cards I wouldn't worry too much as it's impossible to queue calls without available trunks. If you have more trunks, then you would have a place to load up on calls and possibly approach blocking. Of course this is predicated on the the assumption you handle primarily inbound calls. Just don't forget you have two places for potential blocking: within each cabinet and on the ATM link.


60% of the time it works every time

Moderated by  Stix1 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
How to subscribe to get full access.
by Ruben - 05/05/21 09:29 PM
OS UNI Card Version Question
by RM SYSTEMS - 05/04/21 04:53 PM
summit 100 no lines working
by davetel - 05/01/21 05:11 PM
MICS caller ID
by bditech - 04/30/21 05:57 PM
How do I edit my posts?
by Schreiber - 04/29/21 11:07 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,373
Posts639,627
Members49,454
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
LEGRANDS COMMUNICATIONS, odin5
Newest Members
Andrea Sau, eos90066, Sonic, ERA, Mackino
49,454 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Global Test Supply
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 42
pvj 16
Ruben 15
bditech 11
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
NordVPN
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
24 members (CyberLaw, Curlycord, gelehu, dexman, pvj, Silversam, justbill, hitechcomm, Daniel, JBean3329, MooreTel, metelcom, BobRobert, Skunky, Touch Tone Tommy, dougster, Bob3470, ffej010, ssdr9163, Professor Shadow, Yoda, Mercenary Roadie, hbiss, nortelvoip), 282 guests, and 78 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
vpnproxymaster
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners