Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#610159 05/04/17 09:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
John807 Offline OP
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Greetings,
Now I get the opportunity to run and test fiber, only about a mile on poles from building to building. Next week I get to grab the pole numbers and get approval for the "neutral" zone. Suggestions on best practices would be appreciated. I've done copper that far, first time for fiber. I asked the client to get another company to do it, no soap.
TIA


John 807
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
John807 #610180 05/05/17 03:32 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Easiest way is Figure 8 fibre cable. Use a bucket truck, drill the poles, mount 3 bolt clamps to the poles with through-bolts (threaded rod with concave washers) and go to town.

At the first and last poles when entering the buildings I always liked to use a strand vise (dead end) to terminate the strand to a thimble eye.

If there's enough money in the budget, they used to make j-hooks that connected to the through bolt that provided a comfortable place to lay the cable till you clamped it down. This way you could lay the whole run in place and then lock it in place. Some guys liked that, some thought it a waste of time.

You'll need a come-along or fence puller, just remember to be gentle with the glass.

With fibre, no need for lightning protection.

Sam

Last edited by Silversam; 05/05/17 03:38 PM.

"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
John807 #610182 05/05/17 04:32 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Sam - Wouldn't 3-bolt clamps be used with spun cable? And a j-hook and figure 8 clamp with figure 8 cable?

John - Like Sam said, use a strand vise at each end to dead end the cable. Attach one end, then at the other end, use the come-along to pull up the slack, as the cable lays in the j-hooks. Once the sag is correct for the pole spans, then go back to each pole and secure the figure 8 strand to the clamp.

Boy, it's been a _long_ time since I hung cable!

Jim

John807 #610188 05/06/17 02:38 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Yoda -

It's been a long time since I ran cable on poles, but I remember 3 bolt clamps for figure 8 cable.



Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
John807 #610189 05/06/17 03:09 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
It depends on how big the fig 8 strand is. If it's 1/4" I suppose that would fit a 3 bolt clamp assuming the web doesn't get in the way. If the strand is smaller then you are stuck with a "J" hook at each pole, cut the strand at the center of the pole, slit the web so you have cable slack around the pole and two strand vises.

John, you said you did copper that far. How did you do that? Shouldn't be any different. If it were me I would install 1/4" strand then lash it.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
John807 #610192 05/06/17 12:49 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
John807 Offline OP
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Hal I used a come-along to pull out the slack before fastening to the poles. My concern was the glass fibre. Copper is alot more tolerant to what you do to it.


John 807
John807 #610195 05/06/17 03:20 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
You tension the strand. Won't affect the fiber hanging off of it.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
John807 #610199 05/07/17 06:37 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
I looked online for a picture of the figure 8 with j hook support that I'm thinking of, but couldn't find anything. I saw some small ones that must be for really lightweight drop cables.

I'm thinking of stuff I put up with a 1/4" strand, while I was with GTE. The hardware was galvanized. All I found are the 3-bolt clamps you mentioned, Sam. I guess I never used a 3 bolt for Fig 8. Even at this age, live and learn!

Jim

hbiss #610200 05/07/17 06:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Originally Posted by hbiss
You tension the strand. Won't affect the fiber hanging off of it.

-Hal

Agreed. Technically, you should use a dynamometer for correct tension. But I've put up a lot of copper cable "by eye". Never did any aerial fiber though.

Jim

John807 #610203 05/07/17 10:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
It's really a matter of preference. Either mounting hardware will work. As Sam mentioned, the J hook and clamp make it really simple to lay the run in the J Hooks and then go back and secure the strand. (J2235) J-Hook Clamp Strand Vise and Thimble eye or "House Hook" at the ends. You can also use a clevis and insulator. The OP didn't specify the fiber count. Most OSP fiber up to 24 fibers is on 3/16 strand with some in the higher counts with 1/4" strand. It depends on the cable manufacturer. I have seen both.

Rather than using a come-along, use a Haven's Grip (also known as Raven's Grip) or Chicago grip to tension the cable. Using one of these will make the pole to pole "sag" much easier to manage.

Since you are a virgin, I would highly suggest that you contact Fiber Instrument Sales (FIS) Click Here for the cable and all the inside boxes and connectors and patch cables. We have used their products for years and I never had a problem. You may want to consider pre-terminated and certified cable. It will make your job light years easier and you won't have to worry about terminating the ends. FIS has everything you need to do the job, both outside and inside the buildings. They are in Oriskany, New York. They also rent testers if you don't have an OTDR.

With a bucket truck, this job should take less than 1/2 day. With my help, 3 days. LOL

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,834
Posts636,793
Members49,652
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
ArmorSecSys, ILSMitel, IPMoni, Pweber462
Newest Members
machinegod, Gtownpaper, Lazlo, devben, bubblegum
49,651 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (eos90066), 115 guests, and 35 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5