EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Global Test Supply
eCommerce website for sale!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
C64PC Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
I was sent to a site where the customer had a beat up cortelco phone, the issue was a extremely loud buzzing sound (not static, with faint dial tone. I replaced the phone lines connecting to the base set; no change. I replaced the base set; still no change. And I replaced the old 1 port jack, with a new one; nada. I decided to isolate the wires from the customers side and then got a semi-clear signal (light buzz) facing the providers demark. When I reconnected the sound came back. I repunched all connections, still; no change. I check the line no open shorts detected (will try another toner next time to make sure). So I am stumped what could be the issue? What did a miss?

Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,304
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,304
Ground Hum. Always check at the Demarc first. Separate customer from telco. Check Telco first, then use a decent meter like a side kick to test the customer side Tip to Ring to Ground. If you happen to know the test number to remove CO battery for a minute or two, use your meter on the Telco side too.

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
It's not an open, and it's not a short. A toner is not the tool to use to test a line.

Open the line at the demarck. Draw dial tone with a known, good test set or single-line phone that does not require a separate power source to operate. Listen to the line after dialing a digit.

If the line sounds good, proceed to the next step.

With the line open at the demarc AND ALL EQUIPMENT REMOVED FROM THE LINE test with a meter for grounds and crosses.

Put the line back to normal and listen with JUST the test set or common phone at the end location.

You have a ground, a cross, an unbalance, or a defective telephone.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Again, this is why carrying a simple "Sidekick" or similar tester should be part of a normal technician's tools. You could have isolated the problem in one trip in a few minutes. You need not spend a lot of money, these testers are available, used, for very little.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 11
BWC Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 11
When you replaced the base set did you use the same handset?

Cortelco handsets create a very loud hum when they have gone bad.

Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
C64PC Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
Where can I purchased a "sidekick"? Anything beyond a tone tester is basically out of my pocket. I need this job so I will get what I need to do it.

I replaced all of the cortelco parts, no change.

I think it is the line itself, but I do not have wire tester to determined where a break may be.

People I work for are cheap on fixing the issue at hand, so I have to work with what I have.

Last edited by C64PC; 05/09/17 01:46 AM.
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
All you really need for dial tone is a good Butt set to start with. I prefer the Harris Dracon TS 21. Nothing fancy and no battery required. Once you clear the bridge clips or x-connect from your equipment. If the noise is still on the teleco side it is up to them to fix. A sidekick is nice, I usually only need to use mine on private outside plant.


John 807
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
C64PC Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 31
I isolated the connections; on the telco side I get a clear dialtone. When I connected the user (normalizing the connections as they once where) I get the loud buzzing sound again, even when there is no phone plugged into the jack.

I am using a harris buttset.

Last edited by C64PC; 05/09/17 11:55 AM.
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Does the station cable go directly there? Or are there feed cables? If theretr are feed cables go to the next spot pull the connection and check dialtone back to the Dmarc. You could have a bad house pair or a number of other things to look for.


John 807
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,638
Likes: 3
Member
****
Online Content
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,638
Likes: 3
If you know the trouble is in house a simple volt meter will tell you what the trouble is. As was stated by John, you've identified the trouble as in house, now just chase it down to where.


Retired phone dude
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,320
Posts634,239
Members49,509
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
aaronazatian, bg6214, Jigger, mkpgt, willtech
Newest Members
Topekaks101, Contoso, Nick Smithler, MortifiedPenguin, T Top Manufactur
49,509 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 7
Ruben 3
dexman 3
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
15 members (mongo5150, Curlycord, hitechcomm, newtecky, KRRath, Touch Tone Tommy, GregMax, Toner, BobRobert, Ruben, Yoda, cswroe, Neil Hes, justbill, PINKBOY1006), 327 guests, and 150 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud