Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#611521 07/26/17 06:50 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Fosnut Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Has anyone seen a DX80 show 'Buffer Error' on x101? The system locks up after the error and has to be reset. After the reset the system works fine another day. This is happening daily. TIA

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,123
Likes: 13
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,123
Likes: 13
Been a long time since I worked on a DX 80 but I would make sure SMDR is set to NO in programming if it is not being used. Don't know if you're getting a software crash or a full SMDR buffered record that is not over writing old records.


[Linked Image]
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Fosnut Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Pretty sure that was it. Turned off SMDR and haven't heard from them again. Thanks


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,827
Posts636,761
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Al Dukes, entire
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
2 members (Toner, Curlycord), 44 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5