Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Still getting info on this from from another tech. All I know so far is the system is a Nortel. I suspect a MICS or BCM 50 (not my customer, yet).

Customer just switched from copper lines to fiber from the under- build company, and now the system won't ring. Tech measured 47 volts incoming, which won't ring the system. After bumping up to 52 volts, then the system does ring. Are these line cards that sensitive?

Thanks.
Jim

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,728
Likes: 2
Yes, they are. I've also had that same issue with a non-Nortel special type of Line Sharing Device. When I called the company that made it, I was told to take it apart and install a 9 volt dc battery in line with the power supply. Really? Better idea...change the LSD device.


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Hmmm wasn't ring generator 90 volts back in the day? Just wondering if I'm losing my mind?


John 807
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
Originally Posted by John807
Hmmm wasn't ring generator 90 volts back in the day? Just wondering if I'm losing my mind?

Yep (off course you sill might be losing your mind , John ) grin

47 and 52 sounds like DC line voltage , does the tech know to mesure ring voltage as AC ? somewhere around 90 vac is what I would be looking for


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yup. Busted! Ha. I meant to post a follow up, but now I better straighten myself out.
Don't know what I was thinking of. The other tech is from another company, and he's been around a long time. He knows his stuff. But he doesn't do much Nortel work, so he called me while he was enroute. I think he also meant 90 volts AC ringing, but his mouth said 52 volts. And I was caught off guard and, . . . well, the mind is a funny thing. (at least mine is). I ran with the 52 without thinking. Gosh, I can't even blame this on the millenials.

And the follow up: The under-build company bumped up the ring voltage for this site and everything is ok. Apparently they can do this on a site by site basis.

Jim

Last edited by Yoda; 08/29/17 12:36 AM.

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,827
Posts636,768
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Dan Powell, EKPTECH86, History, LinuxTech, Mike Miller, ttcfcl
Newest Members
KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl
49,644 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5