Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#613028 10/03/17 10:43 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Am I daft, or is the only way to access and program the VM in a CIX40 via serial port and a DOS program? I've searched my archives, and the only programming manual I can find for the GVPH card is related to the UADM software. Can I not program Auto-Attendants through the Network eManager? Or from a phone? It's a two station system, which shouldn't be that difficult. Is there a manual I should have that I'm missing?

Thanks,
Dylan


Dylan. SATUBAW (Some American techs use BIX as well)!
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 933
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 933
Likes: 1
You can use the Stratagy VM Manager software as it is a Windows version of the older DOS tool.
You will still need the serial cable to connect to the Stratagy VM.

The CIX Network eManager software is only used to configure the phone system, you cannot manage the voicemail using this software.
You can manage the voicemail from the admin mailbox 999 to create and delete mailboxes or reset passwords but you will not be able to configure a mailbox as an AA with menu options.

Regarding manuals there are plenty covering the Stratagy range of voicemails like the Flash, DK, GVMU, LVMU, Stratagy12/24, iES32, LUCA/Strata Messaging if you have access to the technical support site.


Regards
Carl
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Sadly, I don't have access to the support site. We haven't ever sold Toshiba, I'm just trying to help out a client we've done PC work for in the past. They opened a new office, so we put in a CIX40. Weve got one in our office, but it doesn't have VM, so it never occurred to me that there might be a problem. I'll have to go on a fishing expedition to find the software.

Thanks!
>Dylan


Dylan. SATUBAW (Some American techs use BIX as well)!
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,654
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,654
Likes: 4
Even if you get the software, the serial connection to the voicemail system may be a challenge. If you looked on the voicemail card there isn't a 9 pin serial connection, just a little phone jack. The serial connection requires a 6 wire modular cable plus a DB-9 to RJ-12 adapter, called a PPTC-9 by Toshiba.

The voicemail systems also have a built-in modem. If this is just a one time change then maybe you can get a tech to make a remote change over the phone lines. If you wanted to plan for future changes, then you have a bit a software/connections to gather, Software, PPTC-9 adapter (or DB-9 to RJ-12 properly wired), and 6 wire RJ-12 crossed-over line cord.


Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Originally Posted by newtecky
The voicemail systems also have a built-in modem. If this is just a one time change then maybe you can get a tech to make a remote change over the phone lines. If you wanted to plan for future changes, then you have a bit a software/connections to gather, Software, PPTC-9 adapter (or DB-9 to RJ-12 properly wired), and 6 wire RJ-12 crossed-over line cord.

Thanks for chiming in on this. I got the cable built in about 3 minutes, so that wasn't an issue. I admit to being a little lost on the setup. I have accessed the card through the serial interface. Everything is running. If I dial the DN of the card (250), it answers with a default greeting. I dial 999. It says thank you and hangs up. It's very polite.

So, two questions:

What am I doing wrong when trying to access it from the phone?

Are you interested in/available to do some remote support? If so, PM me. I don't having any problem paying something to get some help on this.


Dylan. SATUBAW (Some American techs use BIX as well)!
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 933
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 933
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by SwedaGuy
I dial 999. It says thank you and hangs up. It's very polite.

999 is the hang-up mailbox so that is working as it should.


Regards
Carl
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
I thought 999 is the admin mailbox?


Dylan. SATUBAW (Some American techs use BIX as well)!
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,654
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,654
Likes: 4
There is a difference between dialing an extension number from the auto attendant and logging in as a user. To log into a mailbox as a user, you would first need to press the * key.

Did the extension you were using have a voicemail? Normally you would get prompted to enter a passcode when you first dial the voice pilot number.

FYI, if you can access the voicemail programming using Stratagy VM manager (or the old DOS version) through the serial connection then you won't necessarily need to use the admin mailbox. You don't use this mailbox for recordings.

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Originally Posted by newtecky
Did the extension you were using have a voicemail? Normally you would get prompted to enter a passcode when you first dial the voice pilot number.

FYI, if you can access the voicemail programming using Stratagy VM manager (or the old DOS version) through the serial connection then you won't necessarily need to use the admin mailbox. You don't use this mailbox for recordings.

There is a mailbox assigned to the phone (DP5032SD), but I must have something not right because pressing the message button on the phone does nothing. I can dial the Pilot DN and reach the VM system. I guess I have to access the user 990 box. That's the default main greeting I have to change. I'm going back on site tomorrow morning, I still have to resolve a night service vs. day service issue, too. I haven't found anyone local to do this, or I'd pass it off. You can't dial in to their system, I don't believe (no analog trunks) but I can hook up a laptop with TeamViewer to allow someone to remote in. So far, no takers.

But, yes, I'm hooked up via serial port to the VM. That was a breeze, even using a USB adapter. I just wish the documentation was more clear. The book I've got for programming it is an old DOS version. It talks about programming the VM, but all the examples relate to the DOS program. Not only that, but integration notes are sparse. For example, how to get a line to ring to the AA with different day and night settings. It was just trial and error, and I'm not sure I'm right.


Dylan. SATUBAW (Some American techs use BIX as well)!
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,654
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,654
Likes: 4
FYI, the message light only works if it is flashing. When it is not flashing it does nothing.

If you dial the voicemail pilot, and the user has a voicemail box, the voicemail system should immediately ask for a security code. If the message in 990 plays instead, then there is something wrong. Did you make any changes to the voicemail ports?

If you have the DOS manual, then many of the same principles apply to the Windows Stratagy VM Manager. Instead of using the Alt key to change screens, there are tab for all the users settings.

I'll send a PM regarding the main greeting setup.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,827
Posts636,768
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Dan Powell, EKPTECH86, History, LinuxTech, Mike Miller, ttcfcl
Newest Members
KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl
49,644 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
1 members (phonman123), 11 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5