Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#616934 02/23/18 09:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 664
hawk82 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 664
Does anyone know if there are rackmount inline splice panels? I have a potential small cabling project for a client where the client needs to move a patch panel from a 1st floor closet to a 2nd floor closet without pulling new cables. There are finished walls and ceilings and it would be cost prohibitive to wall fish new cables to each office. The client doesn't want network equipment in the 1st floor closet either. Right now the client terminated cables to one patch panel, then used 1ft patch cables to jumper to a second patch panel where those runs go to the 2nd floor. All scabbed together with mismatched cable types and patch panel types. They know they need to fix it due to some wallplates not coming up at 1gig, not passing PoE, or not working at all. I've used single inline splices before and they've worked great. But I have 40 cables that need to be punched down and the inline splices aren't practical in this situation.
[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]
That is what I'm talking about, but I need it on a rackmount panel.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
We've talked about this before. Your only choices are those things and patch panels. So the client doesn't want anything in the old closet huh. Well you don't move data wiring around like you move furniture and besides, it's a closet! They have no choice. Two patch panels, correct length patch cords- make it look nice or else walk away.

-Hal

Last edited by hbiss; 02/23/18 09:45 PM.

CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Not rackmount but I was at a client where somebody used 110 blocks one cable in the bottom other half in the clip. I don't know what the speed or integrity is but the client says it is working.


John 807
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 218
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 218
I would tell the IT weenie that set the specs for the job to do it himself , that way its done the way he wants done . When nothing works right then bid twice as much you make money and he gets canned .


Ground is Ground the world around !
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Originally Posted by John807
Not rackmount but I was at a client where somebody used 110 blocks one cable in the bottom other half in the clip. I don't know what the speed or integrity is but the client says it is working.

Yes, there are 66 blocks that are supposed to be CAT5e too but I've never seen what the outcome is when you go to certify. Besides, where are you going to put all this stuff if the customer doesn't want it on the wall? Throw it up in the ceiling?

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Originally Posted by hbiss
...Throw it up in the ceiling?

-Hal
Code violation Hal. You know better. grin


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 218
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 218
It's only a violation if you get caught .Then you play dumb . I have never seen an inspector lift a ceiling tile and calif has some strict rules


Ground is Ground the world around !
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
When the OP said rack mount I thought they were o.k. with cable in the closet just not hardware switches and stuff that gets plugged into power.


John 807
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Siemon makes rack-mounted S110 and S210 series blocks, which are rated for CAT5e use. I'm not sure if they have a CAT6 version, but it would be the easy solution to this dilemma. Punch down the station cables on one side and the outgoing cables to the other rack would punch down on the other side of the blocks. Place this panel at the top of the existing rack, or on a wall-mount bracket. Place an industry-standard cover on it and *poof*, nobody would mess with them, in theory of course.

TAKE A LOOK HERE


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
Originally Posted by hbiss
...Throw it up in the ceiling?

-Hal
Code violation Hal. You know better. grin

That's what I was implying. I was just waiting to hear that that's where it was going.

Ed, that's nice but it really isn't any more good looking than a patch panel. So if you are going to mount that at the top of the wall might as well do a patch panel. But the customer doesn't want anything in the closet, right? How about cutting a hole in the wall and recessing it then install an access panel or one of those recessed data boxes? Hang a picture of the customers grandmother over it and call it a day.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,824
Posts636,752
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 11
ramo 11
Toner 7
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 179 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5