Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#617060 02/28/18 12:09 AM
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 1

Hello everyone!

I would like to hook up a fax machine that only has Tip / Ring on my 1a2 .
The problem are the A A1 leads. Do you guys have any tricks to resolve my problem?

Are there any adaptors still available?


Thanks alot

SL

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Blackybear1305 #617061 02/28/18 01:12 AM
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 218
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 218
What probles you have not specified any problems ?


Ground is Ground the world around !
Blackybear1305 #617066 02/28/18 04:24 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
I think you're looking for an A-Lead controller for a single line phone. Good luck, maybe ebay, Maybe put a relay coil in series on one side of the line with a capacitor across it for the ringing voltage?

Blackybear1305 #617067 02/28/18 05:08 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,049
Likes: 3
Mike Sandman in Chicago used to make an A-Lead controller. Someone else did too, Melco, maybe? Give them a try. Like Tommy said, you can check ebay.

A 6B 1A KTU will give you partial control. You wire the KTU in series with the circuit. When you go off hook on the single line device, the KTU gives you a short across the A-A1 leads, when you hang up it opens the short. It works fine to give you lamp indication on a key set, but if the key set is on hold, it won't take the line off hold.

An 18D 1A KTU should give you full control, but I don't remember, it's been 30 or 40 years since I've seen one.

I probably have a 6B in the dreaded basement. PM me if you're interested.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Blackybear1305 #617071 02/28/18 06:07 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Believe it or not, many fax machines still have A leads wired to the second pair of the line cord. Have you checked this with a continuity tester when the fax is off-hook? Note: This might be a setting in the fax machine itself in order to work.

Unfortunately, the Melco units are long gone, and we can't make Sam go into his dreaded basement! As suggested, Mike Sandman still offers comparable units, and Viking Electronics offers them as well.

MIKE SANDMAN'S #CID2N ADAPTER

VIKING ELECTRONICS #LDB-2


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
EV607797 #617079 02/28/18 05:47 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,749
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,749
Likes: 10
Originally Posted by EV607797
Believe it or not, many fax machines still have A leads wired to the second pair of the line cord.
What is this 'fax machine' of which you speak? doh


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Blackybear1305 #617129 03/01/18 08:53 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,670
Likes: 9
Admin
***
Offline
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,670
Likes: 9
Wasn't that the one where the original was latched into a drum and it scanned the document LOL

Actually my very first modern fax was a Murata. I don't remember if it had "A" leads, but I remember that it burned up one day. The only thing that saved my office was that it was on top of a metal file cabinet. The presswood desk would have made it a different story.

You could buy A lead adapters which were good for single line and cordless phones that didin't have them.



Carl

EV607797 #617137 03/01/18 10:47 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 68
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 68
The Melco loop detector was the model S64-1
That's what I have but it took me forever to find them

Blackybear1305 #617290 03/06/18 07:41 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
I had about 150 of those Melco units that I put up for sale here a few years ago. I didn't expect much response. Every single one of them was gone within two weeks, with some people buying as many as ten at a time. Those things were more valuable than I thought. Who would have known?

People still pull up Google searches of that thread hoping that I might still have some for sale.

To answer the wise-cracks about A-leads on current fax machines... All commercial ones that we encounter, usually Xerox and Ricoh? have them.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX

Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,821
Posts636,743
Members49,643
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Airdale, AnnetteLee, AnnettesDayIsUg, bigboy, Blackline, boomj, db Communications, gwh, samcorcione9111, Victor D.
Newest Members
julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford, Nigel S
49,642 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 12
ramo 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 69 guests, and 27 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5