Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Hopefully there are still some folks still out there who can help me with a Merlin Magix.

I have been plagued by a Hiss/white noise issue on 016 T/R modules. I have a dual carrier, and two 016 modules installed. The issue is only present on analog Polycom SoundStation phones and especially loud during a call while muted. I have plugged the polycom directly into the 016 ports and the noise is present...both cards and any port.

At first I thought this was a power supply issue. But I have since replaced both power supplies and the main carrier.

I was able to get acquire an additional Merlin Magix chassis with a processor CKE5, 016 T/R, 412 TDL and 100DCD cards. It was from an upgrade to VOIP and they just gave the their entire setup and it was supposedly working before the upgrade.

I've swapped a 016 module and the processor, performed frigid erase, tested the 016 module and noise remains. I put the processor and 016 module back into the acquired carrier and performed frigid erase. With nothing connected but Ground, Power and the polycom soundstation to a 016 port the noise is there! I swapped power supplies into this portable setup to see if noise would change and it remains.

To eliminate building power and grounding I took portable carrier(CKE5 and 016 module installed only) to other locations to see if the noise remains and it does. I've tried 2 different UPS power systems and even hooked it up to it's own grounding rod.

Is there some kind of setting that causes this I am missing? or perhaps I have 3 bad 016 T/R modules? Any thoughts and/or advice would be appreciated.
Thanks :-)

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,749
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,749
Likes: 10
What happens if you try just a regular ol' single-line analog set?
What happens if you try a different base cord?
What happens if you try your Polycom at a place not associated with the current environment?


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
So let me get this straight. Ultimately you connected the Polycom to a completely different system and still have the hiss? What does that tell you? IT'S THE POLYCOM!

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Wow, it's the Polycom.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 157
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 157
It is not the Polycom. Polycom has been tested at another site and we did not have the problem. The system in question has the "white noise " sound with an analog set also. He has eliminated the cable by plugging directly into the face of the card.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Well, either you are too fussy or those vintage systems are showing their age. Back when the Magix was new there wasn't much concern about hiss, all there was were the speakers in the phones. Along comes companies like Polycom with their fancy conference phones that have enough gain so that the call can be heard throughout a room, what do you expect?

If you want a better answer go ask Polycom.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Sorry if I wasn't very clear on the first post hopefully I can clear it up a bit.

What happens if you try just a regular ol' single-line analog set?
I don't have one to test with I've only got the 3 polycoms.

What happens if you try a different base cord?
Tried this, noise remains.

What happens if you try your Polycom at a place not associated with the current environment?
Tried this at another building 50miles away from me on another Merlin Magix system, 3 different polycoms sound great with acceptable noise levels.

Too fussy is exactly what I thought at first! But the white noise/hiss is so loud you can barely make out what's being said on the speaker phone.

I have a mobile carrier that is questionable which I was testing the polycoms on and the noise is present, but that was prior to me driving to the remote site and testing. I know the polycoms are good. This means my mobile setup is faulty in some way so I probably can't use it for testing from now on.

Thanks for your replies.




Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Ok fair enough. So I would say that the two Merlins are showing their age. I know that with the Partner there is a known issue with hiss such as you describe when the mod associated with the extension gets old. Partner and Magix are cut from the same cloth so to speak and I wouldn't doubt that they share some similar problems. I would start replacing.

-Hal

Last edited by hbiss; 04/24/18 06:44 PM.

CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,114
Likes: 3
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,114
Likes: 3
White noise.....some sort of data signal? I installed a Merlin Magix in my Church. A 016 T/R module controls exterior door phones. Audio sounds quite good on the outside and inside. Single line telephones are pretty inexpensive at this point. Might be worth picking one up. A buttset might be a better investment. smile


I Love FEATURE 00
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
I know it's been a while and I wanted to post back the solution. Out of 6 modules I finally got my hands on a good one and the noise is gone! It ended up being bad 016 T/R modules. smile

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,821
Posts636,743
Members49,643
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Airdale, AnnetteLee, AnnettesDayIsUg, bigboy, Blackline, boomj, db Communications, gwh, samcorcione9111, Victor D.
Newest Members
julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford, Nigel S
49,642 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 12
ramo 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (Curlycord), 57 guests, and 29 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5