Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
I have a COMDIAL DX-80 system that has had this issue 3 times now. Unplugging the unit and flipping the switch a few times to discharge capacitance then plugging it back in has resolved it twice. No more does this work frown

Basically when you lift the receiver at any of the 6 phones in this location you can get a dial-tone but voice or tone will not transmit.
When pressing buttons the dial-tone will go silent until I stop pressing keys. Nothing happens with keys that I press. If I call the main line with my cell phone, all lines will ring but if I answer on the COMDIAL phone I cannot hear my voice transmit to my cell phone.

This is on every phone and all 6 lines.

Troubleshooting done:
Got an electrical spec sheet for all modules in the system. Power, transformer, and all modules show on multi-meter within tolerances. Powered off and removed all modules one by one and rebooted and tested all the way down to the CPM module and base lines module hoping to get a tone to register or voice to send out. No good. Figured maybe firmware or logic circuit or programming bad. Did a cold start and wiped all programming. Set the jumper back and rebooted. Still same issue. Phones will ring but when answered cant send out voice or tone. Dead silent.

Tried programming. Can enter programming menus with the default ######## password from any phone so the system must see some tone response from the phones!

Contacted TDS in Mesquite NV. They sent a tech that hooked up to the 66 block and found their lines functioning ok.

Gave up.

Hard to support these systems anymore but this one has worked about 12 years now and my client is loathe to replace it.

Any help would be graciously appreciated.
newhere

Last edited by Retro702; 08/07/18 12:34 AM.
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
If the DT works ok, then time to replace, or run there business with cell phones.

Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Time to replace the CPM Module? Sourced one for 50 bucks.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Try it

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 51
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 51
Sold too many with too many problems. cut your losses and sell them a new system. maybe NEC


Phone World Inc.
NE.Ohio
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,123
Likes: 13
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,123
Likes: 13
Still have parts for these systems. If still needed send me a Private Message.


[Linked Image]

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,826
Posts636,757
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
3 members (Toner, Coral Tech, dans), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5