Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
stewie Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Anyone familiar with "603 Decline" SIP errors?

Our IPedge was working fine then suddenly stopped accepting inbound calls & VM went to "camp-on". Packet inspection showed constant "603 Decline" SIP errors for inbound calls & VM ports. Seemed like something was consuming all available ports. Oddly, when the entire system was rebooted everything worked fine for a few minutes but then quickly failed with 603 errors.

Seems like a PBX problem but we've had similar inbound call problems before & it's always due to our carrier. So I opened a ticket with them & it turns out they'd worked on a circuit that we are part of that morning. They said testing revealed no problems on their end. But when I got to work this morning, everything is working fine.

Has anyone else experienced this or know what's going on?

TIA!

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 75
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 75
You are being hacked. Try to secure the router and close as many ports as you can. Restrict the port 5060 to accept request only from you SIP provider ip address. What version of IPedge are you running?


MarcO Qc
Resotel
Technical Director
Quebec, Qc
[email protected]
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
stewie Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
That's not good eek

I'll take a look at the router & firewall settings. It's an odd coincidence this would happen on the same day the carrier worked on "our" circuit. Seems like we would have run into this long before now. Could it be our carrier was allowing traffic that it normally doesn't allow because I'm not seeing anything unusual today. Hmmm.

We're on 1.6.2.212.

Thanks a lot for your reply!

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
stewie Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Hey, MarcO. Just curious why you asked about our version. Is there some vulnerability or something I should be aware of?

Thanks!

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 933
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 933
Likes: 1
Doesn't matter which software version you are running if you get brute force attacked on port 5060 it will cause the SIP Converter service to fail.

Lock up the UDP 5060 so it can only come from your SIP trunk provider's IP address.


Regards
Carl
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
stewie Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
I've been combing through our firewall rules & it ain't pretty. Don't know what these guys were thinking. But you guys are correct that our firewall rules needed to be rewritten.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge! 2thumbs


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,833
Posts636,789
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 132 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5