Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
OK I just posted about our issue with an unwanted extension (ext 406) calling the front desk phone, but my other big issue is trying to call any tech support numbers since we can not dial extensions out on the phone. I actual got this to work 1 or 2 times with our original Mitel SX-50 phone, I am pretty sure I hit one of the SOFT KEYS and MES REG, but now I can not dial any extensions after the initial number has been called. This is by far the worst issue I have with our front desk phone, to get around this we just use our personal cell phones which uses our minutes, well essentially we are having to pay to call any tech support ourselves, which I have put more than enough of my own money into this business without any benefit or reward, just to make our working conditions better, and so have my crew. I planned on remedying this by buying us a cordless phone to go in the laundry room to replace the old land line phone that is our other line when the Mitel is in NIGHT mode, but the owners and managers refuse to let us use a cordless phone and instead expect us to always answer the phone when we are constantly having issues with it, having to unplug it or not being able to hear guests or guests not hearing us, and the phone line that is connecting the phone to the jack has issues where if you slightly bump the desk it will send the phone into an unresponsive mode and it resets itself and automatically sets itself into night mode, CONSOL RESET NIGHT. Sorry I got sidetracked venting about this phone system that is older than I am and all the issues we have with it and still work around. So back to the question: HOW DO YOU DIAL AN EXTENTION AFTER YOU HAVE INITIALLY CALLED OUT OF THE BUILDING, [ EX CALLING TECH SUPPORT]?


GratefullyDead
Dani
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 574
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 574
I would tell the owners to buy a new system or pay to get a tech in

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,005
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,005
You need to program a key on the console for "tones on", then you can dial after being connected. You will need a Mitel tech to do that.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,820
Posts636,739
Members49,643
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Airdale, AnnetteLee, AnnettesDayIsUg, bigboy, Blackline, boomj, db Communications, gwh, samcorcione9111, Victor D.
Newest Members
julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford, Nigel S
49,642 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 12
ramo 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (Curlycord), 16 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5