Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#627569 02/21/19 08:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 44
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 44
Can you make a handset ring on a virtual extesion without having a key programmed on the handset for the virtual extension. Or can you use multiple functions on the same function key?

I have handsets that I want to use in multiple virtual extensions from an auto attendent, but I do not want to lose function keys to allow the handset to ring and pickup the virtual extension?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Use keys that aren't on the phone. Pretty sure this works on the 2100. I know it does on Aspire, UX and SV systems.

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 14
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 14
To the best of my knowledge, you cannot, unfortunately. I seem to remember having this discussion with Nec NTAC Engineers a while back and they informed me that you must utilize a key for this. Out of curiosity, I just tried this with an SL1100 on our workbench. I assigned a *03 - Virtual Extension Key to Key 16 (on a 12 button phone) and it did not ring since that key doesn't exist but does ring when assigned to Key 10. I know you asked about the SL2100 not the 1100, but they are pretty similar in design/programming so I suspect you'd experience the same.

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 365
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 365
We place virtuals on buttons that do not have a physical presence. Typically button 40. Make sure that the ringing assignment is done and ringing line pick up is allowed for virtuals. The only issue would be placing them on hold. For that you can use a park key, transfer the call, or wait for it to call back.

Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
For the key on button 16 did you go into 15-09 and check that key location for that button to ring

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 14
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 14
Ah, mreilly, you are correct. That's why it wasn't working on the workbench. So, you can have a VE ring without an actual key.

I'm a bit confused by part of helpifican's statement about button 40, though. On the SL's you only have options for Function Key 1 through 24 so where does button 40 come into play?

Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
Each one of the system are a little different but you use the same program addresses. On the SV8100 and 9100 series we can program up to key 48 thus him talking of programming key 40. Yes you can have a virtual ext with out having a key so to say.

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,486
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,486
Works on the 2100 not the 1100


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,785
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze
49,648 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (nortelvoip), 178 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5