Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Dialtone and [email protected]+ Intermittent Problem
#629856 05/15/19 08:18 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 4
I'm a homeowner with CenturyLink POTS. Just hit my 4th week with intermittent dialtone and ADSL2+ Sync'ing issues. All testing done from the NIC, no IW connected, Modem and Buttset only, all hanging outside on the wall. I am in the 509-996- (Winthrop WA CO). 4 different modems (including a tech loaner of the ZyXel Centurylink CT-1100-T)

When it works, all is good. 4 trouble tickets now, 1 DSL 6 Subscriber Card replaced at the Remote, 1 dialtone card replaced at the CO and Tech shot the last mile of copper pair and rolled me a better pair yesterday. No improvement. Tech said we are all Fiber from the CO to the remote (DSLAM I think the term). I have about 7300 ft of original underground cabling from there to the house.

When the intermittent loss of dialtone when on-hook occurs, line is sitting at about ~ -1 VDC, no hum, noise, or clicks. I if I call into my line number (from a cell phone or VoIP), it may ring, it may be busy or the ringing may seize the line and auto answer (but no voice path is made). Normal operation is -52VDC on-hook, 25 mA off-hook loop current at about 6VDC through an old BellSouth 1996 483 telephone set.

When there is no dialtone, it takes out the DSL sync, sometimes will resync at 147k Uplink (normal is 892k). This can last for minutes or 12 hours, very randon as to when the intermittent clears. Forced retaining of the sync seldom improves the uplink speeds. I can't complete a Century Internet Speed Test as it fails on the uplink testing.

Here are is a clue that my service tech doesn't seem to umm, "consider"...

1) Each trouble ticket placed for no dial tone, appears to clear the line for awhile about 30 minutes after the ticket is generated, coincidence maybe, tech sez he doesn't know what is done upstream of him. In every case, when the online ticket repair system checks my line, the line passes the test (though I have no dialtone) so I must agree to pay $85 to generate the ticket if it is an IW problem. All testing is from the NIC with no IW connected.

2) There is a 30 sec cadence of voltage clicks that provide somewhere between 6-48 Volts (to short to measure with a digital meter, analog meter on order, actually a Tempo Sidekick 7B), there are 2 quick clicks every 30 seconds indefinitely...this happens with or without the modem powered up and again, at the NIC, no IW).

So my tech sez he doesn't know what more to do. I said I'm going to rip out all my IW, put the modem back outside with an old Princess phone and keep it there so he can see it is not IW. But he also admitted he heard the clicks at some point (I assume from the CO or some place in between). But the the intermittent has not happened while he has been onsite.

So he finally gave me his cell and I can now call and leave a message when it starts again and then when it quits. He is very busy (I believe the only tech out of our CO), he said I'm killing him with these trouble tickets (make him look bad, that is why he gave me his number).

So now we are going to play the report it directly as it happens and when he can look at it, he will and hopefully run down this problem.

While waiting for this to get traction, I thought I'd throw this out to the group. I'm hopeful that the 30 seconds of 2 voltage clicks will point me to where to point the teck.

BTW...the off-shore Internet Support sucks, the online ticketing for phone repair is slick and I have yet to see how this will end up being billed.


Mike, NO7RF, Mazama WA USA
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Dialtone and [email protected]+ Intermittent Problem
Mike-no7rf #629857 05/15/19 09:09 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 315
Likes: 1
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 315
Likes: 1
If it seemed to be moisture related I would say it was the underground cable.

If you haven't already; the next time you lose sync, take the modem outside and plug it straight into the NID and see if it comes back up. It might be possible that there is something in the NID that is causing an issue. (NID - the box on the outside of your house)


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Re: Dialtone and [email protected]+ Intermittent Problem
Mike-no7rf #629858 05/15/19 09:54 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 4
All testing was done from the NIC/NIB/NID/Demarc. Everything described was at the demarc with no IW.

I did forget to mention that the NIC was replaced yesterday as well after the tech rolled a new pair that shot well.

Originally Posted by Daniel
If it seemed to be moisture related I would say it was the underground cable.

If you haven't already; the next time you lose sync, take the modem outside and plug it straight into the NID and see if it comes back up. It might be possible that there is something in the NID that is causing an issue. (NID - the box on the outside of your house)



Mike, NO7RF, Mazama WA USA
Re: Dialtone and [email protected]+ Intermittent Problem
Mike-no7rf #629869 05/16/19 04:06 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 4
Update from yesterday...

One other thing I've found in testing at the Dmarc is that when going back on-hook, battery goes to 44 VDC for about 2 seconds before returning to the 52 VDC idle. I think this is normal and may have something to do with Caller on Hold or Conference, which I do subscribe to.

So yesterday...I get a call from the tech...he said he was going to try something...and since then I've had 19 hours of DSL Sync, no retrains and about the fastest bandwidth in memory as well as good dial tone that doesn't kill the DSL sync when going off-hook or on incoming calls.

The tech replaced the dial tone card, this being the second card during this 4 weeks. I don't know if these are new cards are a stack of old cards that were pulled for various issues and they just go with the random swapping to fix a customer's issue at the moment. We will test for one more day before I return the loaner DSL modem and go back onto IW.

I think now this is solved, though pro comments are welcome. Looking forward to getting the Sidekick to help out here in our little HOA community.


Mike, NO7RF, Mazama WA USA
Re: Dialtone and [email protected]+ Intermittent Problem
Mike-no7rf #629935 05/21/19 05:01 AM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 4
Not to belabor this time-waster...the second dialtone card swap at the CO fixed dialtone and DSL issue related. I can only wonder if these cards from from the recycle bin or out of new stock.


Mike, NO7RF, Mazama WA USA
Re: Dialtone and [email protected]+ Intermittent Problem
Mike-no7rf #629938 05/21/19 02:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,534
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,534
Likes: 1
I would haphazard to guess the cards get put back on the shelf until something definitive, say perhaps smoke being released, proves the card is the problem.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: Dialtone and [email protected]+ Intermittent Problem
Professor Shadow #629951 05/22/19 12:00 AM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 418
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 418
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
I would haphazard to guess the cards get put back on the shelf until something definitive, say perhaps smoke being released, proves the card is the problem.



Or the sticky note on card falls off and nobody knows if its good or intermittent until its pulled and used again.

Re: Dialtone and [email protected]+ Intermittent Problem
Mike-no7rf #629960 05/22/19 03:43 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,534
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,534
Likes: 1

🤣


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Cabling / Installer - Quote Request
by MarvinACE - 10/20/20 11:42 PM
Trunk Stuck
by MarvinACE - 10/20/20 11:39 PM
sbx remote vm message access
by davetel - 10/20/20 04:47 PM
OpenTSP - Windows 10
by FoneJacker - 10/19/20 03:09 PM
ESI Hosted
by mdaniel - 10/16/20 09:51 PM
Who's Online Now
37 members (C5Z, MarvinACE, Mercenary Roadie, C.t.c.73, OBT, Toner, justbill, Professor Shadow, JBean3329, Touch Tone Tommy, Curlycord, dexman, Yoda, tim10, Iwatsu Guru, 304Tech, Daniel, Noobed2336, Corrupted DNA, metelcom, RATHER BE FISHING, Keyset6, rstrek, Bob3470, hbiss, Carl Navarro, Meyery2k, davetel, JWB199, vicbob, KRRath, Silversam, DD782, Neil Hes, Skunky, MooreTel, FoneJacker), 982 guests, and 65 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,017
Posts637,579
Members49,365
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Derbinator, Hound, Jaybroni, Tekamba
Newest Members
Farquie, 4teltech, TRIM IT, LLC, DocZ81
49364 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 25
Ruben 15
hbiss 13
Daniel 10
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners