Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#630211 06/02/19 05:53 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,636
Likes: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,636
Likes: 4
We have a lot of phones form various customers on a VoIP service. When we set them up we used manual configured the Provisioning server to an FTP location.

We need to move all the phones to a new service with uses a different provisioning server using HTTPS. For a few smaller sites this basically required manually updating the provisioning server in the phone and rebooting. This is a bit time consuming. Als, the current configuration of the phones have the WEB interface disabled, so I have to touch each phone.

We don't have access to Polycom Zero Touch Provisioning server, but even if we did we would probably have to default every phone

It looks like I may be able to use DHCP option 66 or 160 to push out the Provisioning server info. I tried using option 66 this briefly but couldn't get it to work (limited time frame to do any much testing). The test phones was setup for Custom + option 66, but it is possible that some phones may be set to Static.

Has anyone been able to use either option 66 or 160 to change the provisioning server information?

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
If the phones are still set to use an ftp server for provisioning then why not put a new config file there for them to grab that has the new provisioning server location?


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Daniel #630274 06/06/19 01:06 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,636
Likes: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,636
Likes: 4
Thanks. The config files are on an FTP with our current service provider that we resell . We want to switch the phones to a new carrier host and I don't think our current service provider will give use write privileges on their FTP site (although I haven't tried yet).

I did find out that DHCP option 160 worked well as a test using a factory defaulted VVX series phone. Next test will be to try this with phone that is already provisioned.

Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
It is possible that your existing provider has shut that down. You may not be able to reuse those phones at all.


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,636
Likes: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,636
Likes: 4
I was able to re-provision phones manually, and I was also able to option 160 , only if the phones are set to Custom + option 66 . If the phones are set to static then it seems to ignore the DHCP option.

This seems to work on a small scale . I just have to try it out on 60 + phones all at one time. It looks like as long as the phone is not set to Static instead of Custom + Option 66 that it wake the option 160 from DHCP after a reboot.

I could have done the testing first, but I was just curious if anyone else has done this before. Using DHCP should be easier then trying to modify the cfg files.

I don't think that these phones are locked to the old service. I was able to change several phones to the new provisioning server without any problem. If they were locked then we could ask them to remove the phones from the redirect servers, since they aren't leased. The admin password on all the phones are default, but their configuration file disables the phone's web GUI, which is unfortunate.


Moderated by  hitechcomm 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,629
Posts635,879
Members49,589
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Abcomm, n1cn0c, nicnoc, reataylor
Newest Members
TVCTech, joe angi, TommyKay, 電信小吳, Partswatch
49,589 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 10
Toner 8
Yoda 5
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (dagwoodsystems), 2 guests, and 9 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5