Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Hi Guys,

I was just wondering...

Any way to put a intercom line on hold?


Thanks

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,749
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,749
Likes: 10
Should be able to. It a talk path with lights and everything.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Yeah I would think you could but I guess you cant... Maybe in order to put a line on hold it must have a 400 line card. In one of my KSU's I have a Teltone intercom and the other KSU a manual intercom card and you cant put the line on hold. I wonder if you have to rewire something.


Last edited by morephones; 07/01/19 02:35 PM.
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
The accepted policy and practice is that there is no reason to have a HOLD capability on an intercom, because it is a private, common connection, that will not fall off if/when one participant disconnects, unlike a CO or PBX connection, where after a certain amount of time, the connection will drop after one participant hangs up.

Imagine that an intercom call is placed: Both parties are speaking. One party gets another call, or needs to select another button for some reason. The guy at the other end of the original ICM call just sits there and waits, until the first guy comes back on the line.

We are talking about a legacy style ICM, where no switching takes place. A manual ICM, such as a 401 KTU, or a DICM, using a 207, 247, 407, 424, etc KTU (all WE) use a common talking path, not under control of a switching equipment that has time-out features. More sophisticated systems will knock down a connection if one end abandons the call.

Since (in the old days) a manual or simple dial ICM in an office got used all the time, putting a line ckt with HOLD capability in the equation would be counter-intuitive. Some bozo would leave the ICM on HOLD, and the rest of the people in the office would be unable to use the ckt, because there is no CPC on an ICM.



Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 657
Moderator-1A2
***
Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 657
I remember having this discussion about tie line cards. Same rules basically apply. It's a manually set up call that won't tear down unless both parties disconnect, yet the ITT cards would let you place a tie line call on hold but the western card wouldn't. Arthur is spot on, there's really no need. Also... how would that work, electrically? Both sets, and generally all the sets would be bridged together, at least with a common path intercom circuit. The A leads of one set would always be connected, keeping the line from going on hold. Maybe with a multi-path intercom where each set has its own ICM circuit, but I personally have never seen such a setup. Does one even exist?

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
The more sophisticated intercoms, developed due to the "because we can" school of engineering, had features that no one needed. They required a separate pair to each station, (or sometimes not) and a separate lamp lead, too. The 6A (with up to, ISTR, 3 talking links), was the first, followed by other manufacturers' improvements and developments, (TelTone made a small, packaged version of the coffin-sized 6A by WE) culminating with the AT&T "Diaogue" ® system. They started to become more PBX than ICM. At that point, HOLD was useful.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Yup. The 6B Dialog system had all kinds of useless PBX-like functions and required the full four-wire connection to each station in order for it to happen. Tone Commander's ML-8000 offered similar functionality, but I still fail to understand why anyone would talk on the intercom that long. Maybe it's just me.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 150
thanks guys..

Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
I have tried it with the nortel 6x16 and what it does is makes the system go back on hook.

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Thanks for the update.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"


Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,821
Posts636,743
Members49,643
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Airdale, AnnetteLee, AnnettesDayIsUg, bigboy, Blackline, boomj, db Communications, gwh, samcorcione9111, Victor D.
Newest Members
julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford, Nigel S
49,642 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 12
ramo 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 49 guests, and 26 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5