Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
VMAC
#627684 02/25/19 04:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 214
Keyset6 Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 214
I wonder if there's any parameter/setting in the VSVML that needs to be modified to allow it to be used with the IX-VMAC? There's very little information about the IX-VMAC in the manuals I have. Don't see any other switches on the VSVML other than the busyout switch. I have 2 IX-VMAC cards where a good VSVML (that works in a VS) won't activate in an Adix or ECS when mounted on the VMAC.

Last edited by Keyset6; 02/25/19 04:14 PM.
Telephone Equipment Search
Re: VMAC
Keyset6 #627707 02/25/19 11:52 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,657
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,657
There is a setting for migrating the VSVML for use with the VMAC.

Open the Omega-Voice VMI System Editor (revision 2.04 or higher).

2. Open a VS-VML profile.

3. Establish a connection with the IX-VMAC.

4. Select the On Line option on the menu bar and select Migrate VS-VML to IX-VMAC.

This is a one-way street- you can't un-migrate the card.

(These instructions are in the Help files in the voice mail programmer. They're not readily apparent..)

Last edited by JBean3329; 02/25/19 11:55 PM.

Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Re: VMAC
Keyset6 #627735 02/26/19 08:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 214
Keyset6 Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 214
Thanks -saw the option, We should confirm our customer will want their voicemail repaired/replaced first since we don't have many VS-VML cards and once it's done you can't go back.

I should be specific - I saw the option with a VS-VML in a VS. I didn't try putting that on a VMAC, installing the VMAC in an Adix M or whatever then establishing communication. I assumed that wouldn't work
since the VS-VMLs I tried won't load, all lights just continue to flash. I could try that next time if that's how it needs to be done.

I've got 2 VMAC cards - didn't think they were actually bad since there's so few components, and didn't think I could have 2 bad ones (they're probably OK)

Last edited by Keyset6; 02/26/19 09:13 PM.
Re: VMAC
Keyset6 #627744 02/26/19 11:20 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,657
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,657
The VS VML128 CF card can be reset to factory settings IIRC.

In any case, they're still available from ICON, the CF cards, that is, relatively cheap as well. Can solve a lot of problems easily. If all you get is flashing lights, that's a sign something has happened to the CF card. No lights at all means the circuit card has probably decided to go home.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Re: VMAC
JBean3329 #627751 02/27/19 01:39 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 214
Keyset6 Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 214
I get the flashing lights with the VS-VML on the VMAC, if I install the same VS-VML in a VS it loads fine. After my previous post, I went home! Not sure if I'll be in the shop tomorrow. To clarify, the VS-VML must be mounted on a VMAC to do the change - or can it be done in the VS? The option was there when it was in the VS. If not, I may be out of luck.

I've defaulted a few of the CF cards that were removed from systems before putting them in stock as spares. Good they're still available and not too expensive.

Re: VMAC
Keyset6 #627786 02/27/19 07:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,657
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,657
You can still do the migration when the card is mounted on the VMAC. You connect to the voicemail card itself, regardless of how it's installed in a switch. The migration changes the start-up files to match integration data from the ADIX as opposed to what's coming from a VS. It looks almost the same, but remember that the VS is pretty much already programmed as far as hunt group numbers and extension numbers, whereas an ADIX is built from the ground up.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Re: VMAC
Keyset6 #627792 02/27/19 08:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 214
Keyset6 Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 214
Yes - I now see even though the VS-VML didn't activate on the VMAC (The top 4 lights keep flashing) I can communicate with it, see mailboxes, schedules - etc.

Re: VMAC
Keyset6 #631306 07/22/19 04:19 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 214
Keyset6 Online Content OP
Member
OP Online Content
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 214
Today I tested a VMAC we obtained, I wanted to add to this post that the VMAC needs to go in slots 1 - 32 only. If replacing a 4VML the logical ports need to moved to the new slot which of course requires a reset.


Moderated by  Jadix, JBean3329 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
DP/DKT phones in healthcare environment
by Benji B - 06/01/20 11:40 PM
Adding a station on a CX
by EV607797 - 06/01/20 08:36 PM
Limiting trunk access
by Bushmills - 06/01/20 06:10 PM
Phone in DCS Operator Group doesn't ring
by Keyset6 - 06/01/20 12:07 PM
NS1000 RENUMBER 600 and IDC GROUPS
by ronaldjamesh - 05/31/20 11:54 AM
Who's Online Now
42 members (Benji B, RATHER BE FISHING, dexman, seafort, dude, newtecky, Mercenary Roadie, justbill, jeffmoss26, Yoda, JBean3329, Touch Tone Tommy, EV607797, metelcom, Bushmills, Arthur P. Bloom, hbiss, dans, Curlycord, Ruben, nameless, ImNotThePhoneGuy, BobRobert, teleco, jkmartin, Keyset6, tylan, KRRath, backspace, Professor Shadow, BTS01, mike b, Daniel, Yucca Telecom, jknichols, gelehu, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, iatech3800, ILE, vicbob, Skunky, MooreTel), 536 guests, and 41 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,733
Posts635,923
Members49,292
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
cquillmann, genart1, OukoTech, p2ii, roundaboutrc, Shane Bohannan, techhelp, WTWC40
Newest Members
swoodsNI, B. Endsley, Abner Dawes, Gringo, Jeffrey Cohen
49292 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 21
hbiss 10
Bob-o 10
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners