Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#631346 07/23/19 10:38 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 385
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 385
I just came from a new client who told me Comcast had verified their line was good to the interface so it was their problem.

Truth is that they have a 308 doorphone so I explained that it is a system device and nothing to do with Comcast. They have no display sets and my book was home so I'm returning next week to see if the software went flat although I thought default was all doorphones ringing all stations?..

I checked the IW as good and suspect the adapter at the KSU has failed

another clue.
Neither doorphone has any talk battery but on only 1 pressing the call button delivers DT?

Does anyone have a way for me to determine if it is the adapter without buying one to swap?

Thanks

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 385
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 385
I guess there aren't many of these out there anymore?

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Try momentarily shorting the pair that goes to the door box. If the adapter is good, this should start the ringing cycle at all programmed stations. Even if there's nothing programmed to receive ringing for some odd reason, you should hear some relay clicking. If you don't, then yes, the adapter is probably bad. Although this system has been discontinued, I can't imagine that you can't get a replacement from a refurbisher if needed. It sucks that you don't have a display phone. Have you checked to see if the system might be in the night mode where nothing is programmed to receive door box ringing?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 385
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 385
Thanks ED,

It was simpler. They had downgraded a few years ago & had only SLT's and cordless phones left. 2nd visit I brought a system phone to check programming. I discovered although the analog component was working. there wasn't any battery at all on the data pairs of any port. Wish I would have checked that before I bought the Doorphone adapter though.

Thank you for the response.

Ralph


Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,830
Posts636,775
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Florencio, HtownDan, Kerry2362, Lorena Catalan, SWB, telecom5000, Tex Tel Marine
Newest Members
Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D
49,645 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 29 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5