Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Grrrr
#633044 09/30/19 12:52 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
Moderator-Panasonic
***
OP Online Content
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
So today I learned a valuable lesson. Last weekend, I installed an IP system; 2 lines, 21 rooms, a console and SIP trunks. I put in the basics and lent them my SIP connection until the paperwork was completed. Tuesday, I can't log into the remote access of the PBX. I can get to the Raspberry Pi, the customer can use his PC and credit card machine, but the IP phone and all lines are dead. Hmmm. Odd, because I can log into all my remote sites but this one. I can see the router, but no IPPBX, gateway or phone, they've all gone offline.

I ask the customer to trace the boxes. He tells me that the router has lights, the box on the front desk has lights (of course it does, the computer and credit card machine work), and the PBX has 3 lights (3 cables plugged in, gateway, PBX, and link to the router). Well, O.K. everything appears normal. I guess I'll have to come up there after church and figure out what went wrong.

Any guesses?


It took me about 30 seconds to find the problem and another 10 minutes to fix it. I ran a 4-pair cat5-e from the router to the switch at the PBX and plugged the router feed in port 1, and the PBX/gateway in ports 7 and 8.
The customer had 3 lights, only the one NEXT to port 1 was the POWER light, port 1 is deader than a doornail!

Note to self: Next time I run a cable from point A to B, PUT JACKS ON IT AND USE PATCH CORDS! I used RJ-EZ plugs, but something must have slipped. I didn't bother to see what, I just cut the plugs off and terminated the cables on jacks and used patch cords.

Lucky for me, the property is undergoing a rehab, so they don't go online for another few days. However, I'm gonna try to figure out how to bury the 360 miles and 8 hours round trip :-( Maybe I'll surcharge the next job LOL

Carl


There's no place like 127.0.0.1
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Grrrr
Carl Navarro #633045 09/30/19 02:08 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,262
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,262
Quote
Note to self: Next time I run a cable from point A to B, PUT JACKS ON IT AND USE PATCH CORDS! I used RJ-EZ plugs, but something must have slipped.


You're a naughty boy, Carl! How many times have I told you not to do that, hmmm? See what happens? I hope you learned your lesson.

-Hal

Last edited by hbiss; 09/30/19 02:12 AM.

CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Re: Grrrr
Carl Navarro #633046 09/30/19 09:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,679
Spam Hunter
*****
Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,679
My preference is to use actual patch cords, but, I'll crimp when necessary. I used EZ plugs while working as a CO technician @ Level(3) and we ran a lot of Ethernet cables around the various COs. Never had one fail. AFAIK, they are still being used post CenturyLink merger. I do have an EZ crimper and a supply of 6p6c and 8p8c plugs for use at my Church.


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
Re: Grrrr
Carl Navarro #633117 10/03/19 08:10 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 962
Likes: 1
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 962
Likes: 1
What type of phone system is that?

Re: Grrrr
Carl Navarro #633119 10/03/19 09:04 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
Moderator-Panasonic
***
OP Online Content
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
Yeastar S-50 with a TA-2400 Gateway They are pretty fun and simple to install. I'm doing these as retrofits...trying not to do any full installations. I'm getting a few requests because of Kari's law. Those old Mitels are becoming an issue and the newer systems take less space, less power, and have more flexibility.

I'm working on a Grandstream UCM-6104 as my next project. It has a little less cost than the Yeastar, especially for the customer that exceeds the breakpoints of the 50/100/200 cabinet. The UCM can address 500 extensions and the calling paths are about the same.





There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Re: Grrrr
Carl Navarro #633135 10/04/19 12:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 315
Likes: 1
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 315
Likes: 1
From what I've heard 3rd hand. You can put that many extensions on a UCM, just be sure that they don't do high call volumes. It can cause the system to get laggy. Again though 3rd hand information.


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Re: Grrrr
Carl Navarro #633139 10/04/19 02:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
Moderator-Panasonic
***
OP Online Content
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
From my reading, the UCM product allows 30/45/100 calls for the 6202,6204,6208 product. No, I wouldn't consider putting 500 extensions in any of these boxes, but I might consider 120 in the 6208 box.

My test box is a 6204 but I don't exactly have the ability to load test it beyond 10 calls. The 6204 is probably going to a 16 room property.



There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Re: Grrrr
Carl Navarro #633143 10/04/19 03:39 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 962
Likes: 1
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 962
Likes: 1
Thanks. Very interesting because some Mitels still in service are very old. Why choose Yeastar over Grandstream?

Re: Grrrr
Carl Navarro #633145 10/04/19 04:06 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
Moderator-Panasonic
***
OP Online Content
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
I installed my first Grandstream back in December 2015. The original software didn't have any hospitality features. I tried Yeastar for a 2016 sale that didn't really get installed until 2017 (family tragedy in-between). The problem with Yeastar is the hospitality software requires the Hotel software for front-desk wake-ups and check-in and out. Not very cost-effective for the 16 room property :-). In the meantime, Grandstream added their hospitality app which can be set from a phone or a PC as part of the basic system. Now my 16 room property comes in at sub $1000 and I still get SIP trunk residuals.

I expect to fire up the UCM in a motel by mid-November It's working great on my test bench. For extra fun, I can change my outbound CID by logging into the extension. Not that I'd ever do that LOL



There's no place like 127.0.0.1

Moderated by  Professor Shadow, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
OpenTSP - Windows 10
by FoneJacker - 10/19/20 03:09 PM
ESI Hosted
by mdaniel - 10/16/20 09:51 PM
Mitel phones
by jsaad - 10/16/20 06:22 PM
Vodavi In-Skin HDD VM Card
by ABLE1 - 10/16/20 01:17 PM
Who's Online Now
36 members (MooreTel, jsaad, Corrupted DNA, Curlycord, JBean3329, KRRath, Toner, C5Z, Notaphoneguyatall, justbill, BobRobert, hbiss, mdaniel, DD782, rstrek, nfcphoneman, Bull Tone, Pinecreekboy, nameless, nonameyet, hitechcomm, Touch Tone Tommy, chiefjon, jab1780, RATHER BE FISHING, Daniel, Professor Shadow, Carl Navarro, Ruben, Bob3470, Memphisribs, RonP, FoneJacker, metelcom, vicbob, Skunky), 536 guests, and 59 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,014
Posts637,571
Members49,364
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Derbinator, Hound, Jaybroni, Tekamba
Newest Members
Farquie, 4teltech, TRIM IT, LLC, DocZ81
49364 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 25
Ruben 15
hbiss 14
Daniel 10
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners