Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
IP Phones on BCM 450 R6
#633625 11/06/19 03:46 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,069
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,069
Does anyone have a step by step config form on how to config for IP phones. (using Element Manager)
Customer has a BCM-450 with R6.

I can't seem to find anything to get started with programming IP phones. No Add button, No anything button.

Can IP phones work off the OAM? Or is that Strictly for maintenance?
Customer wanted the IP phones on separate Network than everything else.

I connected the phone and did the password.
But then items came up that I have NEVER seen before.
Unfortunately, the customer interrupted as I was going to copy that info then forgot to go back and get it.
Does anyone have a step by step setup for the phone also?

I looked at those screen with EleMgr and my mind went Blank.

The only time I had to do IP phones was after they were already working.
I need a How to get started.

Is it better to use DHCP or go Static IP?

Any help will be MUCH appreciated. It has been Years since I did IP phones.




If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Nortel Equipment and Telephones
Re: IP Phones on BCM 450 R6
NTlayoff #633626 11/06/19 12:04 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,591
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,591
You should leave OAM alone.

Just a quick basic one as I do not have a cheat sheet.

For separate network get a PoE Switch
Change IP address of BCM (through set usually works best (F9*8))

Keycodes
-Keycodes required for IP sets "IP Client"
--If you get "Keycode required" and know you have enough then Deregister any unused IP sets in IP Resources/IP Terminal Details.

Telephony Resources/IP Sets
-Enable Registration
-Set password
-Choose if to Auto Assign DN or not
-Put in a Company name in Logo
-In IP Terminal Details deregister any unused sets.

Data Service/DHCP Server
-DHCP Server is IP Phones Only
-"localdomain" or IP Address of BCM
IP terminal DHCP Option
IP Address of BCM
Port BCM
Port # 7000
Address Range (if needed)

IP Sets
-Enter Network setup and select Auto and check only these boxes to be editable:
If you want DHCP only:
---DHCP Enable

If you want to enter static address's then check only boxes:
S1:
Port:
Retry:
Do same with S2 (or if another BCM on the network then you could add it as the S2 as a backup if S1 is down)

Now press Config to configure those check boxes:
For DHCP enable

For Static:
S1: BCM IP address
Port: 7000
Retry: 5 or so.

Hit Apply and set will reboot.


Somebody else maybe can chime in to correct or add.

I am basing this on a BCM R6 with 1100 series sets.



=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Re: IP Phones on BCM 450 R6
NTlayoff #633639 11/06/19 10:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,069
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,069
Curlycord - THANKS A BUNCH.

That is what I was looking for.
Although I think he is trying to use 1220 IP phones.

I remembered that the BCM's I worked on in the past had 2 Network Jacks and they both "could" be used for whatever.
I did not realized till too late, that this BCM-450 only has 1 network and a OAM.

He wanted to isolate his IP Phones and was trying to use the one labeled OAM.
It did not click until after the fact that OAM is Admin only.

Do I need to Create an ext in the BCM or in the phone?
Or does it just create its own extension number?

And do I need to do anything to the 20+ prompts in the phone that I never heard of before?
Just leave at default??

I will have to try it again with your info.
THANKS.



If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Re: IP Phones on BCM 450 R6
NTlayoff #633649 11/07/19 11:50 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,591
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,591
"Do I need to Create an ext in the BCM or in the phone?"

"-Choose if to Auto Assign DN or not"
This means if you choose Auto then the set will choose the DN when it connects.
If you do not have it set to Auto then when you connect (after entering password) it will ask you what DN you want to use.


"do I need to do anything to the 20+ prompts in the phone that I never heard of before?"

In most cases no but if the sets are not new then I suggest to factory default them.


=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Re: IP Phones on BCM 450 R6
NTlayoff #633653 11/07/19 06:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,069
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,069
Very much appreciated the info.

Never did IP from scratch - just added to whatever was there
Just look what is and then copy.

Now that I think of it - I may have stumbled through the process and guessed here and there - except I was on the OAM port.

THANKS.



If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff, Z-man 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
CISC version needed
by Yoda - 08/14/20 05:40 PM
Office server 100
by bditech - 08/13/20 05:50 PM
Definity support
by ALB300 - 08/13/20 01:53 PM
HELP toshiba DP5130-FSDL system compatability
by Duane F. - 08/12/20 09:57 PM
Common audible ringing question
by morephones - 08/12/20 07:03 AM
Who's Online Now
28 members (Bob3470, Yoda, Avidcomm, Ruben, EV607797, justbill, hbiss, Noobed2336, newtecky, Touch Tone Tommy, Curlycord, KRRath, gelehu, RATHER BE FISHING, Carl Navarro, mongo5150, ECI Tech, bditech, BobRobert, metelcom, usedphones, Skunky, DonaldR, KX-T308, morephones, pvj, Professor Shadow, Mercenary Roadie), 464 guests, and 107 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,875
Posts636,823
Members49,330
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Abcomm, n1cn0c, nicnoc, reataylor
Newest Members
gertter, bmerri19, Henry VIII, jmontler, barryv
49329 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 40
DonaldR 21
hbiss 20
Ruben 18
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners