Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Windows 10 [Re: Steve Mull] #598693 03/07/16 10:09 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,718
Rcaman Offline
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,718
Three failures. The program loads, but doesn't look like it loaded. The window that indicates program load success is hidden behind what looks like a stalled progress screen. So, naturally, after a half hour, I hit the cancel screen and, that screwed up the install.

On computers 2 and 3, the program loaded, launches and then consistantly errors out with password is incorrect, extension is not recognized and some other crap that I just got frustrated with and quit. I didn't even try the 4th computer.

Tomorrow I am taking a Win 10 laptop I have and see if it loads.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
ESI search for systems, cards, phones!
Re: Windows 10 [Re: Steve Mull] #598699 03/08/16 03:16 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,540
nonameyet Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,540
beutiful....


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel..

Retirement 2019 ( It has happened )
Re: Windows 10 [Re: Steve Mull] #598805 03/11/16 09:38 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,718
Rcaman Offline
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,718
OK, here's one for the "What.........the heck?" file.

I try and connect the ESI cabinet to the ISP's router. That usually bypasses all the firewalls and other Nazi crap the IT weenies hang on the network. This was a new Verizon FiOS install and there was a Verizon router, so I plugged into it. All the Windows 10 computers getting VIP 7 were connected to the Netgear POE switch which was connected to the Verizon router.

I could ping the NSP, I could ping the computers, but VIP 7 would launch and then fail.

So, I decided to connect the cabinet to an unused port on the Netgear. Surprise, surprise, VIP 7 loaded and is working on all 4 Windows 10 computers.

I have one user who is the Media Manager and Media Manager, absolutely, does not work with Win 10. I'm not so sure it plays too well with Win 7 either. I contacted ESI and the response was "We are anticipating a release of Media Manager that will work with Windows 10." I am not holding my breath.

Oh, I forgot to mention this interesting tidbit: This customer purchased a CS 50L from us about 5 years ago. Unbeknown to us, the customer drank some Comcast Kool Aid and got their VoIP Polycom phones and service and just shut off the CS 50L.

The customer called one day last week and politely asked us how much would it cost to upgrade his system and hook it back up again? They absolutely HATED the VoIP system. Compared to the ESI, two tin cans and a string works better. In fact, the owner, in a fit of frustration took two styrofoam cups and poked a hole in the bottom and stuck the ends of a patch cable in each cup. When the Comcast rep showed up to try and talk the customer into keeping the Polycom junk, the customer handed the rep one of the cups and held the other one and continued the conversation pretending to use the cups and string to communicate. He said: "See, this is 100% better than that VoIP you sold me."

As I have said before, VoIP is a solution looking for a problem. If a customer alredy has phone wiring and it's good, there is nothing a VoIP system can offer that a good, modern digital system does not have. In fact, in this case, the ESI offered EVERYTHING the Polycom offered and MORE with infinitely more convenience and much more user friendly.

So, chalk up a win for a real telephone system vs the nebulous VoIP. laugh

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Re: Windows 10 [Re: Steve Mull] #598825 03/12/16 02:20 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,540
nonameyet Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,540
We have 2 customers using media management using Win7 with no issues( except for the occasional need to reset the ASC card.....)


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel..

Retirement 2019 ( It has happened )
Re: Windows 10 [Re: Steve Mull] #598840 03/12/16 10:50 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,718
Rcaman Offline
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,718
The "issues" with Win 7 usually subside with a bcdedit Always off command in CMD. The resetting of the ASC, I was told by an ESI tech was due to Win 7 not recognizing a certain call the ASC makes when running some code. I got the sense this was not a priority issue with ESI and they aren't doing much about it.

My solution to that kind of response is to call ESI EVERY time I need a reset. Sure, I can do it, but, they HAVE to log every call, so the more aggrivating nusiance calls they rack up, the more possibility they may want to fix the problem.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Re: Windows 10 [Re: Steve Mull] #598856 03/13/16 05:49 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,540
nonameyet Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,540
who's got the Time to call...2 weeks ago...I called( Had to. needed licenses) was on hold 45 minutes before even Talking to anyone..


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel..

Retirement 2019 ( It has happened )
Re: Windows 10 [Re: Steve Mull] #598872 03/14/16 01:40 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,718
Rcaman Offline
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,718
It's called "delegation of authority." I give all the information to one of the girls in the front office and let them sit on hold. I wrote up a little script for them and they just fill in the blanks with the appropriate information to the customer. It works every time.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Re: Windows 10 [Re: Steve Mull] #598884 03/14/16 05:22 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,540
nonameyet Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,540
Oh, You have Help....


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel..

Retirement 2019 ( It has happened )
Re: Windows 10 [Re: Steve Mull] #598923 03/15/16 08:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,718
Rcaman Offline
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,718
LOL....yeah. Old Timers, like me, need help. My patience grows very thin listening to ESI's MOH.

Zatomic

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Re: Windows 10 [Re: Steve Mull] #633979 12/03/19 07:05 PM
Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Frodo Baggins Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
I'm sorry for not coming back here sooner. Yes the old programmer software can be run on windows 10.
You have to change 1 byte in the EsiMain.exe file.


The byte at position DF(Hex)/223(Decimal) in the original file is 85(Hex)/133(Decimal).
Change the byte at position DF(Hex)/223(Decimal) to 84(Hex)/132(Decimal).

And it will work.
You can use a hex editor to do this, or this powershell script:



Put the following in a text file called PatchESI.ps1, and place this file and EsiMain.exe in the same folder for patching.

Code
$infile = "EsiMain.exe"
$outfile = "Temp.exe"
$byte = [Byte[]] (0x84)
$f = Get-Item $infile
$file = (Get-Content $infile -encoding byte)[0..222] + $byte + (Get-Content $infile -encoding byte)[224..$f.Length] | Set-Content $outfile -encoding byte
Rename-Item $infile ("$infile" + ".old")
Rename-Item $outfile ("$infile")






This error occurs because the IMAGE_DLLCHARACTERISTICS_NX_COMPAT Flag is set in the exe because of a compile error when they built it,
due to a change from Microsoft that broke some things.

Here is some background info:
https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/ed_maurer/2007/12/13/nxcompat-and-the-c-compiler/

Page 2 of 3 1 2 3

ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Most Recent 5 Post
OS7030 Weird issue
by barnito - 12/12/19 04:31 PM
DS2000 One Line goes direct to a mailbox
by Randy - 12/11/19 04:53 PM
NS1000 license question
by conxtel - 12/11/19 04:47 PM
Getting out of the biz after 20+ years!
by breeze - 12/11/19 04:28 PM
SBX voicemail problem
by davescomm - 12/11/19 03:24 PM
Who's Online Now
42 registered members (Bob3470, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, Curlycord, Professor Shadow, pvj, Touch Tone Tommy, RM SYSTEMS, srg, Ruben, Ted, crazysupratt, Southernphoneman, Bruno Torres, justbill, markpiecableguy, barnito, JBean3329, mreilly, Shawane, Memphisribs, jknichols, adteldon, gelehu, Yoda, MooreTel, 1864, BobRobert, OBT, Silversam, Carl Navarro, metelcom, Skunky, RedBul, dexman, phonemeister, newtecky, simian123, nortelvoip, Mercenary Roadie, hbiss, firefighter, Coral Tech), 1,490 guests, and 487 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics93,089
Posts633,094
Members49,189
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
acclaimpc, aregowe, commgeek, fxsfxo, jmarc, Lazy J, telcomgal
NEC DX-40 PKG $299
NEC DX-40 PKG $299
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 13
dans 9
POLYCOM SOUNDPOINT 10 Pack
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
50% OFF Most All Phones
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Bluewater Sailing
Become a Patron! https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners