Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
STSe DISA issue
#634584 01/12/20 02:28 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
Here's one that has me stumped. Line 4 is set for DISA, 24 hours w/FWD. System answers with dial tone, enter password and dial 9 (or any other code) and it works just fine. Dial 88 + CO line number and reorder tone is returned. All lines have DISA CO-CO enabled. Any ideas?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: STSe DISA issue
EV607797 #634606 01/13/20 06:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 640
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 640
I didn't use DISA very much with the STSe, but I will take a stab at it. When you say "reorder tone is returned" is it after dialing the entire co line (88+xxx) or is it before you can finish the sequence? The manual show's that you only have 2 options...Either dial 9 or 801-823. It doesn't look like 88+xxx is an option. The initail dial tone you receive isn't technically the same you would receive as a digital or analog extension, which means you have no way of programming the COS of the initial dial tone, therefore no way to access on a per line basis. I may be wrong, but it looks like it's either 9, or group 801-823 are the only choices you have. Maybe someone else can clarify.


"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"
Re: STSe DISA issue
EV607797 #634612 01/14/20 04:26 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
Don, if you monitor an e-trace during these calls, it shows a fictitious (out of range) extension number as being the "station" doing the calling. I know that with the XTS, it was extension 352. The reorder tone is returned after dialing 8800X in its entirety. It may be that this isn't available, but it sure would be nice. In this instance, someone took off for the weekend and forwarded their main number to a dead cell phone. I had to give the customer the bad news that they had to go to the office and cancel the CO forwarding. Had I been able to make this work via DISA, I could have saved them the hassle and been a hero. Oh well, maybe it just can't be done.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: STSe DISA issue
EV607797 #634621 01/14/20 04:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 640
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 640
Love being the hero, but sometimes it doesn't work out. Couldn't they have just called the carrier to do a RCF temporarily?


"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"
Re: STSe DISA issue
EV607797 #634645 01/15/20 05:31 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
I suppose, but have you called after-hours support for any service provider? The language barrier alone makes this a non option! It just stinks that you can access literally every system feature via DISA except this one which I consider to be fairly important. Oh well...


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: STSe DISA issue
EV607797 #634717 01/17/20 04:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,480
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,480
Ed,
I'm pretty certain we attempted to do this years ago and Paul at vodavi said it couldn't be done. And the reason we were trying to do it was very similar to what you are trying to do they wanted it in the event of not getting into the office they could forward. If my memory serves me correct we put it that main line in its own Pool group to get around it. This particular places was "squared" so it didn't really affect anything else.
Gary

Re: STSe DISA issue
EV607797 #634749 01/20/20 07:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
Thanks for the additional insight, Gary. Since they are in a true square key system environment, as in not dialing 9 for a line, I'm going to just put line one into its own group that is dialable via DISA. It turns out that this idea might not work anyway since they're already reporting that callers are complaining about 'being cut off'. What's happening is that calls are hunting to their fourth line and getting DISA dial tone, or more likely, they are calling back from Caller ID (the cell phone curse).


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: STSe DISA issue
EV607797 #634754 01/20/20 02:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,814
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,814
Enable the DISA Conf function, cause that is what it actually is and set the timer which controls the call, it is defaulted at 10 seconds. Flash 51 button 24 button 3.
Timer is flash 01 button 9. Then again this may already be set or dial 9 would not work. However if the manual is precise, DISA has access to line groups not individual lines unless it is a group of one.

DISA callers may access LCR, All Internal/External Paging, All Call
Paging, Call Park Pick-Up, and Meet-Me Paging. A DTMF receiver must be available for DISA
operation. The duration of a trunk-to-trunk DISA call can be set by system administrator.
Incoming DISA callers may access all line groups such as FX or WATS lines or other outgoing
services while away from the office.

Question, how did your customer forward their calls? CO or STS, because if it were the STS you should be able to change it thru DISA, I seem to remember doing that using the call forward follow me code along with * for off-net to speed dial number.

Seems I still have to keep my finger in it after how many years?

Last edited by Derrick; 01/20/20 03:01 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Re: STSe DISA issue
EV607797 #634759 01/20/20 05:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,251
Likes: 1
Derrick, they were just using the call forward feature on the first CO line (*72), so my plan was to be able to directly access line 1 in order to dial *73 and cancel it.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: STSe DISA issue
EV607797 #634771 01/20/20 11:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,814
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,814
Well direct trunk access doesn't work with DISA, as I remember, you can work around by putting line one in its own group. I think I did a bit of cheating to get this to work. If you want to keep it in the main line group, parallel wire it to a second trunk port if available, let no one have access to it and no line appearance so in effect 805 would give you line 1 even if it is in group 800 so to speak. Does this make sense?


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
summit icm ring
by davetel - 10/31/20 03:28 AM
ISDN Caller ID relay
by MarcO Qc - 10/30/20 05:48 PM
SBI-145 Merdian Digital Centrex
by aarond2424 - 10/29/20 03:06 PM
nickname for cabling scraps? mongol?
by temp001 - 10/29/20 04:18 AM
SL1100 dialing problem
by teleco - 10/28/20 07:30 PM
Who's Online Now
20 members (Curlycord, pvj, davetel, Yoda, nortelvoip, hitechcomm, BobRobert, newtecky, EV607797, Mercenary Roadie, Bob3470, dude, hbiss, Professor Shadow, ChrisRR, Farquie, Touch Tone Tommy, justbill, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, Joe Talbot), 257 guests, and 91 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,040
Posts637,709
Members49,371
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
cglover, danaphone55, patrickc, Paul Elkins, slowly_drowning_in_IT, Wellco
Newest Members
temp001, DynaAdmin, Nickonicle, chelsea419, jsb15
49370 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 24
hbiss 10
Toner 10
Daniel 9
Ruben 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners