Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
(2) 6021 IP phones keep intermittently swapping extension numbers
#634786 01/21/20 11:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 44
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 44
OS-7100, software 4.99, 6021 phones are at v1.40

We have two IP phones (remote) that work fine as far as placing/receiving calls. They are extension 179 & 181. At some point a couple months after installation, these two extensions will intermittently swap their extension numbers. Here's what I mean. If you have a 6021 phone programmed, then you will see that extension number in a little black box in the upper left corner of the display. If you lift the handset, then just under the little black box with the extension number in it, you'll see your extension number there as well. Here's the issue. When X179 goes offhook, right below the extension in the black box it will then show 181. Then I go to the other phone which is displaying 181, lift the handset and it shows 179. If you place a call - the extension number showing when you lift the handset is what's displayed.

Now - when this happens...it will go back as well. Here's what I've done to try and isolate so far.

-In 2.7.1 I swap the user ID's and then have them reboot the phones. Things are fine for a while - then they swap again.
-In 6.3.15 I completed CLEAR REGISTRATION & FORCED LOGOUT
-In 6.3.5 I completed PORT CLEAR for the two affected extensions
-Rebooted each phone
-Reviewed settings in the phone to make sure there were not multiple servers configured


EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: (2) 6021 IP phones keep intermittently swapping extension numbers
PortlandTech #634789 01/22/20 06:06 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,818
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,818
What mac addresses show up?
Are these phones in the same place?
What Do you have set as the pnp mode in 5.2.10?

Re: (2) 6021 IP phones keep intermittently swapping extension numbers
nameless #634800 01/22/20 06:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 44
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 44
-Phones are in the same office - both running off different ports on their Gigabit switch.
-Noticed that Auto PnP was set. Looked at some other systems and that appears to be the default. Changed to NORMAL LOGIN, system restarted and we'll see what happens.

Appreciate the response!


Moderated by  Genesiscomm, nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
SBI-145 Merdian Digital Centrex
by aarond2424 - 10/29/20 03:06 PM
nickname for cabling scraps? mongol?
by temp001 - 10/29/20 04:18 AM
SL1100 dialing problem
by teleco - 10/28/20 07:30 PM
Zoom voip
by BrianS - 10/28/20 01:43 PM
Forum Update Pending
by Ruben - 10/27/20 06:51 PM
Who's Online Now
24 members (nfcphoneman, teleco, Joel J., Curlycord, MooreTel, Yoda, Pinecreekboy, metelcom, phonman123, BobRobert, Skunky, phonemeister, EV607797, justbill, RATHER BE FISHING, Bob3470, newtecky, dexman, nortelvoip, Mercenary Roadie, dude, jeffmoss26, juno, Touch Tone Tommy), 266 guests, and 131 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,038
Posts637,705
Members49,371
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
bnorthup, Brian PV, jackntampa, tatenda, TomB, WCCOM
Newest Members
temp001, DynaAdmin, Nickonicle, chelsea419, jsb15
49370 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 24
Toner 10
Daniel 9
Ruben 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners