web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Hello everyone.
I am not an installer and just an end user starting research on a solution to a problem I am dealing with in a rural area. Complete novice when it comes to phone systems and telecommunications technology.

Any advice or info would be appreciated.

I'm in a small rural area where the telecom provider uses a Nortel DMS-10 system which does not provide the features of rollover/call hunting and call forwarding. These features are not supported even when the phone line is a business line. Call waiting and call display are supported and our main line has both features.

Is there any equipment that can be purchased in order to get these features in house? A switch of some sort. A system that can convert incoming calls...etc.
At the moment we have 2 basic hard (analog) phone lines. One of the lines is our main line and has call waiting, allowing cycling of 2 people max. Anyone else calling is told the line is unavailable. Not a busy signal
Since there is no call rollover (line hunting) from our provider, the phone lines are completely separate and not interconnected at all. So if one line is unavailable there is no way currently to transfer a third call to our second line.

I want a solution with auto attendant, a queue and the ability to have a few people on queue hearing a pre recorded message or music until which time we get to them.

I don't think there is equipment that can overcome the inability of the provider but wanted to double check.

Cellphone reception has gotten much better. Can a cellular network offer these features by purchasing proper equipment?