Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Need to dial 9,911 and 911 Only
#635303 02/12/20 06:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 544
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 544
New law requiring phone systems with trunk access by dialing 9 then 911 must be able to go off hook and dial 911 only and reach emergency services. Is this doable in programming? Thanks.

Samsung Telephones and Equipment
Re: Need to dial 9,911 and 911 Only
RM SYSTEMS #635305 02/12/20 06:41 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,191
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,191
if you are using LCR you could have a 2 digit entry of 11 and have it add the 9 for you in LCR Modify Digit mmc713

Re: Need to dial 9,911 and 911 Only
RM SYSTEMS #635314 02/13/20 02:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 544
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 544
Thanks PVJ

Re: Need to dial 9,911 and 911 Only
RM SYSTEMS #635322 02/13/20 07:56 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 725
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 725
My understanding on the new law is that it is a requirement for NEW systems installed after February 16, 2020.

Last edited by phonman123; 02/13/20 07:58 PM.
Re: Need to dial 9,911 and 911 Only
RM SYSTEMS #635348 02/14/20 01:16 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 544
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 544
Phonman123 that's good to know. The issue was brought up by the customer's HR person. I'll have them check it out.

Re: Need to dial 9,911 and 911 Only
RM SYSTEMS #635350 02/14/20 02:17 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 725
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 725
Fourth, Kari’s Law expressly provides that Congress did not intend to “alter the authority
of State commissions or other State or local agencies with jurisdiction over emergency communications,
if the exercise of such authority is not inconsistent with this [Act].”23 Kari’s Law directs the Commission
to enforce the provisions under Title V of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended, “except that
section 501 applies only to the extent that such section provides for the punishment of a fine.”24 The
effective date provision states that Kari’s Law “shall apply with respect to a multi-line telephone system
that is manufactured, imported, offered for first sale or lease, first sold or leased, or installed after”
February 16, 2020.

Re: Need to dial 9,911 and 911 Only
RM SYSTEMS #635433 02/17/20 02:16 AM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 290
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 290
We are doing the "upgrades" when we are onsite doing other work.


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Re: Need to dial 9,911 and 911 Only
RM SYSTEMS #635640 02/25/20 12:37 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 544
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 544
As a follow up, I realized the school has 8 as the LCR digit. I believe I will need to change LCR digit back to 9 before I can program system to dial 911 both ways (9,then 911 or 911) I'm trying to test this in my office. The display is only showing 11 when I dial 911. Keep in mind I have the trunk 701 connected to a
analog station port. Thanks.

Re: Need to dial 9,911 and 911 Only
RM SYSTEMS #635645 02/25/20 03:24 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 725
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 725
You shouldn't have to change the dial 8. Keep it as is. It's all hidden with LCR.

Re: Need to dial 9,911 and 911 Only
RM SYSTEMS #635646 02/25/20 03:45 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,191
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,191
But if LCR is a dial 8 he wants someone to go off hook and dial 911 without accessing a trunk so LCR would need to be 9 and then 11 with a modify digit to add the 9.

RM Systems, I did play with this. you won't "see" the 9 added to the digits dialled on a phone. Suggest if you want to play with it on a live system use a 4 instead of a 9 to test the theory. At least information won't get pissed off like a 911 operator then just change the modify digit to 9 when you know it should work

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Genesiscomm, nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Spam Canned Meat Varieties
by dexman - 05/30/20 01:37 AM
Partner ACS T1 module setup
by ChrisRR - 05/29/20 08:32 PM
SL1100/2100
by Derm J - 05/29/20 11:07 AM
APC SU1000XL Operating Question
by EV607797 - 05/28/20 07:34 AM
Call Pilot on BCM
by Yoda - 05/27/20 10:07 PM
Who's Online Now
21 members (Curlycord, newtecky, Mercenary Roadie, nortelvoip, JBean3329, Why Me!!!, justbill, Touch Tone Tommy, Arthur P. Bloom, hbiss, Ruben, RATHER BE FISHING, BobRobert, Bob3470, jeffmoss26, hitechcomm, pdxjim911, ChrisRR, Professor Shadow, tim10, Yoda), 147 guests, and 55 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,728
Posts635,897
Members49,292
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Buckshot, finlover, hitech-redneck, kevhawk13, Lancomm Steve, sjohnson, techdudeben
Newest Members
swoodsNI, B. Endsley, Abner Dawes, Gringo, Jeffrey Cohen
49292 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 18
Bob-o 14
hbiss 11
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners