Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Voice problems with Comdial & Spectrum
#635939 03/18/20 04:10 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
I'm in need of some insight from everyone.

I've posted to the forum in the past, but nothing in recent years (because everything was working well).

I've been with the same company since 1999 (I'm in computer IT & networking, not telephony)....but have been looking at the same phone equipment since it was new in 1999.

We have a Comdial Debut voicemail, Comdial Impact 8324S (seven handsets), and a Comdial DSU-II (J0816) with an additional 2 modules (JM408). We have 7 phone lines through Spectrum (voice & internet).

Recently (approximately 3 weeks ago) we began experiencing call (voice) quality issues...specifically, not being able to hear the person we were speaking with. This is happening for incoming AND outgoing calls. The recipient can ALWAYS hear us, but what we hear is very broken up (like you would hear on a poor cell phone call) OR we can't hear them at all. It's also not on every call...this only happens sporadically....sometimes in the AM, sometimes PM...sometimes all day and on every call.

I've done the basics....rebooted our phone equipment...and the Spectrum equipment I have access to. We've called Spectrum several times and haven't received a clear answer...other than the "signal" to our equipment is good. They did send out a Spectrum technician, who installed a new coax distribution block and a device that looks like an amplifier (power brick attached to the coax distribution block.

I realize our phone equipment is old, but is it time to give up on it? My gut feeling says now, but I would be pleased to have others add their opinion.

I hope I've given you enough information to give us (me) your insights, opinions and assistance.
Thanks!

Comdial Telephones & Systems
Re: Voice problems with Comdial & Spectrum
GBullard #635940 03/18/20 04:21 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 270
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 270
We have a couple of DSU and DSU-II left in service and they are on spectrum with no real call quality issues. I assume that you have done the simple stuff like replace handset cords. Also if there is one or two people who are the major issues, you might try swapping phones around see if the problem moves (Problem with phone not system or spectrum). If they installed a power supply then the signal to their equipment was not good, it was low.


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Re: Voice problems with Comdial & Spectrum
Daniel #635943 03/18/20 05:11 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Hi Daniel....and thanks for your reply.

The problem is happening to everyone (all phones, all lines, sporadic times)....however the common issue seems to be "hearing" the person you're speaking to (the person your speaking with continues to hear us).

I've not replaced the phone wiring (yet) as it was happening on all handsets (even mine when I was speaking with Spectrum). That is a good suggestion....I'll change that out on a couple of extensions to see if that resolves the problem for them.

I have several handsets (Comdial Impact) too....and will change out them with the same stations for the wiring. I'll just change a couple to see if the problem improves or stays the same.

Our entire phone system is on a battery backup (APC SmartUPS 1500 with a fresh APC OEM battery).....and the Spectrum equipment is on a battery backup they provided (small Tripp-Lite device).

Yes (power supply / low signal)....however, after speaking with them again today, they say the signal is good. They also changed out SOME of the cabling (and a cable distribution block)....but nothing "upstream" from our suite.

Thanks again for your assistance....I'll switch out a couple of the handsets, cords and stations per your recommendation.

Re: Voice problems with Comdial & Spectrum
GBullard #635948 03/18/20 09:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,354
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,354
You need to find a service company who will be able to send out a tech on short notice. When your employees notice a drop in voice quality call in the tech, he or she will monitor and test the lines with their butt set. They should test the lines with them disconnected from the Comdial system.


We get old too soon, smart too late
Re: Voice problems with Comdial & Spectrum
GBullard #635952 03/18/20 10:37 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,990
Admin
*****
Online Content
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,990
When I have these type of line issues I will put regular old POTS analog sets in line before the KSU. When issue shows up I disconnect the modular CO line cord to the KSU while off hook on the 2500 set. Problem still there it's a carrier issue- problem clears up it's the customer premise equipment.


[Linked Image]
Re: Voice problems with Comdial & Spectrum
GBullard #636083 03/25/20 03:19 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
@dans...
Thanks for your suggestion. We have (had?) a local technician (company), but unfortunately the technician we utilized has "moved on to greener pastures" (ie, retired)....and locating one that works on older equipment has been difficult. Everyone wants to sell us new equipment, but that doesn't necessarily "fix the problem". We're still actively seeking a new technician....and will request they try your suggestion. I appreciate your input....thanks!

@Rather_Be_Fishing
Thank you also for your reply / suggestion. I might be able to try that myself (old POTS analog handset). I don't have a butt set (as @dans suggested), but I do have an old analog phone and will try that....and the wiring isn't too far removed from my abilities. I appreciate your insight.

Thank you both (again) for your suggestions.
With the recent coronavirus "shelter in place" ordinances in my area (DFW), our business has slowed and employees are now working off-site. I'm still engaged with daily activities at the office (in person), but haven't been able to reproduce the reported problem.

I'm going to use this quiet time to dig out an old POTS phone and prepare for when this issue resurfaces again.....and will report back to let the forum know (just for future reference).

Stay safe, stay connected....

Re: Voice problems with Comdial & Spectrum
GBullard #636104 03/26/20 08:05 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,150
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,150
You mention 'handsets' several times and that you've changed some of them. What about the telephone sets themselves to see if the problem follows the phone? I know it's a stretch, but worth a shot if you have the equipment at your disposal.

Still, I'm not buying the fact that your 30+ year old equipment just stopped working properly. Keep in mind that this system was designed and sold back when REAL phone companies were the only option for dial tone and they provided REAL specifications on those lines. I'd get a volt meter and measure the voltage of each line, both on-hook and off-hook. You should measure something in the 48 volts DC range on idle lines and around 12 when off-hook. Anything lower than these and you'll have issues (especially the off-hook voltage). There are line boosters/conditioners available that will help to compensate for errant voltages and you might want to consider purchasing some. Before that, especially if your voltages are out of range, I'd make Spectrum tighten up. If they want to sell phone lines, then they need to be real phone lines. Their modems (EMTAs) made by Arris are fairly reliable, but the newer ones made by Ubee have a mind of their own.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: Voice problems with Comdial & Spectrum
GBullard #636120 03/27/20 06:42 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,495
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Online Content
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,495
You'd have a tough time convincing me that your Comdial phone system works part time when it's the closed end of the phone network, especially one way transmission problems. Analog Terminal Adapters have settings and the system has SMDR. I'd be matching volume problems with call logs and then suggest Spectrum send a tech with access to the settings in the boxes. It's not going to be voltage or any other phone related issues. It sounds like TRUNK(line) problems.

Carl


There's no place like 127.0.0.1

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Basic Mode Transfer
by ffej010 - 03/30/20 10:32 PM
Officeserv with Skyetel
by Bushmills - 03/30/20 09:05 PM
END OF SALE?
by dude - 03/30/20 06:40 PM
Remove Line 3 from routing to Auto-attendant
by sonny88 - 03/30/20 05:47 PM
System Call forward fail CIX670
by SSPhone - 03/30/20 01:35 PM
Who's Online Now
42 members (nortelvoip, hbiss, EV607797, Professor Shadow, newtecky, Yoda, bretthaze, Carl Navarro, Mercenary Roadie, hitechcomm, justbill, RATHER BE FISHING, Bob3470, dexman, toinfinity, Touch Tone Tommy, skip555, ffej010, jeffmoss26, Ruben, JBean3329, bdunne, metelcom, sonny88, Keyset6, Bushmills, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, Daniel, ChrisRR, Memphisribs, BobRobert, mongo5150, Bruno Torres, nfcphoneman, dude, jknichols, brokeda, conxtel, phonman123, SSPhone, sfletcher, KRRath), 849 guests, and 56 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,599
Posts635,134
Members49,260
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Adam Randall, Felton 1967, FeltonD, paezacero, Spencer
Newest Members
randyt, Justin FCMI, Link_HC, bryann84, pmj
49260 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Ruben 40
dexman 35
hbiss 14
davetel 11
Keyset6 10
Buy one Get one FREE when you use PayPal at checkout! Code T28P
Yealink $39.95 Buy one Get one FREE when you use PayPal on checkout! Code T28P
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners