Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#636923 05/27/20 04:07 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,229
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,229
my customer has an sts. when calls come in the caller hears three rings before the sts phones actually ring. is there a solution for this. thanks. dave.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,750
Likes: 10
A couple things to consider...

What the caller hears isn't delivered by the telephone system but by Telco. I am sure you remember picking up you home phone and someone was there. The call rang for them, but it hadn't rang for you.

Does your customer have ICLID? Remember, ICLID is gathered between the first and second ringing cycle.

Does your customer's customers expect a company to always pick up in the first ring?


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
Actually there is a ring delay on the STS it's so the phone doesn't ring on the first ring to give CID time to get there, or for whatever else you want it for. It's found under A-9 of the manual. Default is no delay. As Dean stated it could also be what's heard verses what's been sent.


Retired phone dude
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,229
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,229
yes they do have iclid and i dont think they expect calls to be answered on the first ring. im curious if i disabled the caller id on the ksu would it ring faster.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
Not if ring delay is set to something other than zero.


Retired phone dude
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,229
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,229
im sure they are still set for no delay.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
To add if ring delay is set to zero, there's nothing more you can do.


Retired phone dude
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
As Dean mentioned, the ring cadence between CO and system cycles can be dramatically different. CO line ring cycles are about six seconds, where system ones are closer to three. Basically, the station rings twice for every "ring" that the caller hears. Add one of the system's timers to this and yes, it's quite easy for the caller to hear a few rings prior to answer.

There are two ring delay timer settings that are involved here. First, there's the system-wide ring DETECT timer in flash 01 that Bill mentioned. This single-digit entry between 2 and 9 determines the delay time that lines ring before the system starts to PROCESS the incoming call. This setting should be set to around 6 in order to capture CID data. This range, 2-9, represents 200 to 900 ms of time, NOT the actual ring count. The default is 3, which is for use without caller ID.

It is also helpful to set this delay even without caller ID, since it will keep the system from trying to process a call on a line that has telco CO line forwarding activated. With telco call forwarding enabled on a line, a half-ring burst is still sent as a reminder. By setting this timer properly, the system will not only wait to capture CID data, but it will also ignore these reminder rings.

The second CO ring delay timer under flash 40, page C, is the delay in which the actual ringing sound of the call begins AFTER the system has processed the call. Normally, this setting would be 0, since you want the calls to ring immediately once presented to the station. This setting is limited to a maximum of 20 seconds, and as stated earlier, an entry of zero results in no delay.

Aside from that, any other delays must be coming from some other setting. One scenario that I encountered was where a line was set to ring at a virtual station that was then no-answer forwarded to the receptionist. This was at a radio station where the line was also parallel-connected to the studio phone system. They wanted calls ringing in at the receptionist delayed as long as possible, so using the combination of CO line ring delay PLUS station preset forwarding, they accomplished it. They got almost two minutes of delay that way. Pretty ingenious, I might add.

Station preset call forwarding (flash 50, page C) offers more flexibility in time delay conditions (internal/external, etc.), and up to 99 seconds of delay time. I know it's a stretch, but is it possible that this might be what's happening in your situation?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX

Moderated by  EV607797, JWRacedog, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,788
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 14 guests, and 36 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5