Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#637006 06/01/20 08:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
I was sent out to activate another station on an existing CX installation. The set is a Mitel labeled 4110 set, which I believe is the equivalent to Inter-Tel's 5120 series. Anyway, I'm trying to add this phone to what should be the 13th station port on the system. Ports 1-8 on the first module are cross-connected and ports 1-4 on the second one. I'm using the fifth one.

I get dial tone with a butt set on the first pair and data noise on the second pair, so I'm sure my cable and jacks are good. When the phone is connected, I get talk battery in the handset and the display is fully functional, but the phone doesn't work otherwise. Do I need to get into system programming via X20 to activate this port or is there more to it? I don't think it is programmed as "disconnected" since it should be returning a busy signal when going off-hook under those circumstances. Could it be a polarity issue? Any ideas?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Don't everyone answer at once! I'm posting back to convey that I found out what the problem was in case someone else encounters this scenario. After returning to the site, I determined that there was something about the white/blue pair that the system didn't like. I could get dial tone across it with a butt set with no problem, all of the usual continuity testing passed, but once a digital set was connected, the pair didn't work for audio. After moving to another pair, it worked fine.

What's odd is that I only had a three pair cable to work with and the third pair was being used for a fax. I put the fax on what was the "defective" white/blue pair and it works perfectly fine.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX

Moderated by  Stix1 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,375
Posts634,588
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
apexnetworks, blpogue, Hillyard, Silversam
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 17
dexman 12
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (justbill), 6 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5