Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Adding a station on a CX
#637006 06/01/20 08:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,204
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,204
I was sent out to activate another station on an existing CX installation. The set is a Mitel labeled 4110 set, which I believe is the equivalent to Inter-Tel's 5120 series. Anyway, I'm trying to add this phone to what should be the 13th station port on the system. Ports 1-8 on the first module are cross-connected and ports 1-4 on the second one. I'm using the fifth one.

I get dial tone with a butt set on the first pair and data noise on the second pair, so I'm sure my cable and jacks are good. When the phone is connected, I get talk battery in the handset and the display is fully functional, but the phone doesn't work otherwise. Do I need to get into system programming via X20 to activate this port or is there more to it? I don't think it is programmed as "disconnected" since it should be returning a busy signal when going off-hook under those circumstances. Could it be a polarity issue? Any ideas?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Comdial & Vertical
Comdial Vertical Search Enter Part Number
Re: Adding a station on a CX
EV607797 #637080 06/06/20 04:05 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,204
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,204
Don't everyone answer at once! I'm posting back to convey that I found out what the problem was in case someone else encounters this scenario. After returning to the site, I determined that there was something about the white/blue pair that the system didn't like. I could get dial tone across it with a butt set with no problem, all of the usual continuity testing passed, but once a digital set was connected, the pair didn't work for audio. After moving to another pair, it worked fine.

What's odd is that I only had a three pair cable to work with and the third pair was being used for a fax. I put the fax on what was the "defective" white/blue pair and it works perfectly fine.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX

Moderated by  Stix1 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
OAS MGI failure on OS7200S
by btil - 07/15/20 10:56 PM
T1 circuit question for T1 experts
by jsaad - 07/15/20 03:04 PM
NEC SL1100 24 button DESI labels???
by maxcomm - 07/14/20 08:47 PM
2100 questions
by conxtel - 07/14/20 08:37 PM
Samsung Pro Star DCS
by bditech - 07/14/20 02:34 PM
Who's Online Now
37 members (nortelvoip, RATHER BE FISHING, justbill, Village of Fonda, Keyset6, Bob3470, nonameyet, C5Z, Yoda, Mercenary Roadie, Curlycord, Arthur P. Bloom, JBean3329, btil, Carl Navarro, metelcom, tim10, dans, teleco, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, BobRobert, hitechcomm, Ruben, jsaad, Professor Shadow, OBT, gelehu, Touch Tone Tommy, hbiss, ECI Tech, conxtel, dexman, KRRath, pvj, Rok1215, inspector754, tellithigh), 567 guests, and 49 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,816
Posts636,385
Members49,313
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
agvcrc, IAMME1, nundance
Newest Members
tellithigh, HMHRIT, StevCom, DaleG, jlspeck
49312 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 25
dans 12
pvj 7
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners