Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Connection refused on site
#637018 06/02/20 02:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
I have a customer that routinely connects to an ECS from her PC via the network. Today she's getting a 'Connection refused' error. I asked her to open a DOS window and ping it, the ECS is responding and sending a reply. I think I have may experienced this once at a customer's site - but if I recall correctly next time I was there it was OK.

Any idea of what can cause the 'Connection refused' message? I believe last time this customer had the trouble she rebooted her PC, then was able to get it. That's not the case this time.

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Connection refused on site
Keyset6 #637019 06/02/20 04:12 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
I wanted to edit this post but didn't see an option. This is the same customer that had the trouble that I posted back on 2/4/20. I'll see if the customer can connect this afternoon or tomorrow.

Re: Connection refused on site
Keyset6 #637020 06/02/20 05:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,534
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,534
Likes: 1
In looking through the manual it appears that the Browser Programming was released back in the Windows XP days and operates up to Windows 7.

Is it possible that there might be a Microsoft update that might me interfering with the connection? I know a lot of laptops that worked great connecting divices to the XP environment and wouldn't with OS's beyond XP or Windows 7. Don't know if that's you case.

Regarding Editing: Editing is only allow for a certain amount of time, not indefinitely.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: Connection refused on site
Keyset6 #637025 06/03/20 03:09 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Like back in February, the customer is now able to connect a day later. I use the Icon Programmer on a Windows 10 laptop. I got this once when connecting to a customer's Iwatsu PBX remotely via the VPN client they supplied me. I connected to their network fine, got the 'Connection refused' error when attempting to connect to the PBX. The next time I tried a few days later, it was fine. Don't know what the customer has for a PC. Next time I'll ask. I did suggest that she contact her I.T. company to check out the situation, but since it's working now she did not put in a ticket.

Thanks for checking the manual. Yea the programmer was developed years ago. There was even another one before that which is required on some very old Iwatsu PBXs that may even go back to Windows 3.1.

Got it re: editing.

Re: Connection refused on site
Keyset6 #637031 06/03/20 05:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,534
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,534
Likes: 1
I think that last Omega systems I programmed was a III or possibly IV...it's been quite a while.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: Connection refused on site
Keyset6 #637033 06/03/20 06:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 32
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 32
I have a customer that has this exact same problem. Sporadically it just refuses a connection. 9 times out of 10 they have to reboot their phone system if it is something that has to be done immediately and sometimes a few days later it will be fine. It seems like there is a process that gets the connection port frozen and either time or a reboot releases that connection. I know if you have enterprise services running on another computer that uses the "web programmer" it will do this a lot. I have never spent a lot of time with this because the Installed programmer works just fine and i disable that service when I have installed Enterprise Services. Unfortunately without a bunch of "All Error Logs/File transfer" and to pay Icon for their time, this problem will most likely not be resolved. Maybe time for an upgrade?

Re: Connection refused on site
Professor Shadow #637038 06/03/20 08:23 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
One thing you could do is have the system reset at a certain interval. As long as they're not a 24/7 operation you could do daily overnight. I have at least one system doing that where one CO port consistently loses it's Caller ID function. I was going onsite to re-seat the 408 - but it was happening a few times a week and we didn't have remote access at the time. We have a several customers that we connect to using LogMein - simply a PC at their site we remote into the run the Icon programmer from it. With that, usually on site I can't even connect physically to LAN1 in the CPU with a cable - I get something like 'Another user is already connected', I think it has to do with services related to what you've mentioned - but I'll end up even when on site using LogMein which is kind of a pain, several log in screens and of course the resolution is smaller.

Professor Shadow - we have one more Iwatsu ZTD and I think an Omega IV. Both of those are 2 pair per phone. Believe it or not we still have an Omega III - not even digital, an 'electronic' system. 3 pair - why I still have a reel of 3 pair 1A2 cross connect! We replaced the other Omega III 2 years ago with an Iwatsu Adix. I think all the jacks used the wh/or pair for T&R on the 'new' system. The Iwatsu ECS is a great system IMO. Since April I've had a 5910 IP phone at home connected to our system at the office.

Some customers are returning to their offices. We have one request already to move a couple extensions so they'll be physically distanced further from each other.

Last edited by Keyset6; 06/03/20 08:23 PM.
Re: Connection refused on site
Keyset6 #637045 06/03/20 11:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,681
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,681
There used to e an issue where Window's updates would kind of corrupt a dll file in the programmer that would cause that error. Usually, re-installing the programmer would fix it.

I still service half a dozen ZTDs, a couple ZTSs and a smattering of Omegas IIIs and IVs. They did in fact use the wht/or pair for T/R audio, with the wht/bl used as a bypass pair and wht/gn for DC voltage. I even have a 412 and one solitary 128, which I am proud to say, was recently converted from coal to regular house curent.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Re: Connection refused on site
Keyset6 #637049 06/04/20 01:13 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,024
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,024
Likes: 1
Wow an IDS-128 still in service? I went to school on this platform when they came out in the mid 80s I think. Never got to install one.


[Linked Image]
Re: Connection refused on site
Keyset6 #637075 06/05/20 08:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,389
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,389
one of the first jobs I helped on was replacing an ITT 1A2 with an Iwatsu ADIX VS.
It was nice having lots of spare pairs to keep both systems running in tandem.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Jadix, JBean3329 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Are you an Asterisk Ace?
by Toner - 10/22/20 03:39 PM
SVMI Card settings backup & restore
by Hofman telekom - 10/21/20 01:46 PM
IPOffice remote voice mail access
by Brian A - 10/21/20 11:41 AM
Also looking for Crossbar PBX
by Joe Talbot - 10/21/20 08:40 AM
You'll LOVE this... Looking for Dimension tapes
by Joe Talbot - 10/21/20 08:34 AM
Who's Online Now
35 members (NateBates, dexman, Toner, Touch Tone Tommy, chelsea419, Roscoe, Iwatsu Guru, Professor Shadow, jsb15, KRRath, nwilliams, Curlycord, DD782, Ruben, jsaad, metelcom, Hofman telekom, Edward_, jknichols, mongo5150, Joe Talbot, MooreTel, Brian A, Skunky, nameless, ssdr9163, Bob3470, EV607797, justbill, Mercenary Roadie, BobRobert, ffej010, hbiss, hitechcomm, nortelvoip), 382 guests, and 61 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,022
Posts637,603
Members49,367
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
DSIDAVE, Tom Lynden
Newest Members
jsb15, C.t.c.73, Farquie, 4teltech, TRIM IT
49366 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
Ruben 15
hbiss 12
Daniel 10
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners