Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
No ring voltage
#637090 06/08/20 07:25 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Finally made it to the DCS customer I have in a neighboring state. While there, the contact mentioned they're not receiving faxes. Found there's no ring voltage, and a slight constant chattering like sound on the line, along with the other 7. I didn't know about this trouble of else I would have brought an SLI card. I wonder though - does it sound like that or a power supply? If it was in fact a bad power supply in cabinet 1 - would the 'super capacitor' be on circuit board within the cabinet? Hoping so - thinking so as I may have replaced one on a spare system a while back. If that doesn't hold a charge I'd be re-programming the entire system. I also wonder if the ring voltage comes from the power supplies that insert into the cabiner (PS40, or PS60?) or is that voltage generated elsewhere in the cabinet.

For now I connected a spare analog line to the fax and changed the dedicated trunk to ring the new ext. The customer isn't concerned that it's a different ext, but I want replace what ever hardware is bad. The SLI in question is in cabinet 3. I will look in the manual - but off hand I wonder is it necessary to shut the entire system down to replace that SLI, or can I just power down that cabinet?

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: No ring voltage
Keyset6 #637091 06/08/20 08:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,818
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,818
The super cap is in cabinet 1 from memory.
If the card is in cabinet 3 then it's something in this cabinet.
Dodgy slot or card.
In theory you can just switch that cabinet off, been a long time since I worked on dcs system.
Make sure you have a spare psu unsafe the cabinet doesn't come up after being switched off

Re: No ring voltage
Keyset6 #637096 06/08/20 11:57 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,202
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,202
Super cap is on the motherboard in cabinet 1. Ring voltage is generated by the sli cards from the regular system voltage -55v and there is a ring generator on each sli card. I don't know if you can shut down 1 cabinet or not, I was always under the impression that the expansion cabinets needed to be on first so the main cabinet would "see them".

Re: No ring voltage
Keyset6 #637099 06/09/20 12:44 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Thanks for the info. Sounds like it's the card itself. Maybe that chattering/motorboat noise I'm hearing has something to do with the ring generator on the card. We should still have a few SLIs at the shop.

Probably best to shut the whole system off. And yes I was going to bring a power supply or 2 just in case.


Moderated by  Genesiscomm, nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
2199 Lithium battery
by brokeda - 10/24/20 06:01 PM
Colour Choice for X-16 gone...
by MooreTel - 10/24/20 01:49 AM
Are you an Asterisk Ace?
by Toner - 10/22/20 03:39 PM
SVMI Card settings backup & restore
by Hofman telekom - 10/21/20 01:46 PM
Who's Online Now
20 members (newtecky, justbill, Joe Talbot, Mercenary Roadie, Bob3470, hitechcomm, Yoda, RATHER BE FISHING, Herk, jsb15, nfcphoneman, nortelvoip, Edward_, buttercool, BobRobert, hbiss, Curlycord, brokeda, dexman, Touch Tone Tommy), 126 guests, and 128 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,026
Posts637,641
Members49,367
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
chelsea419, jsb15, C.t.c.73, Farquie, 4teltech
49367 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 20
Ruben 15
hbiss 12
Toner 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners