Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
What is the proper wire squence from smart jack to 66 to keystone jack?
#637710 08/01/20 01:36 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 346
surdel Offline OP
Member
*
OP Offline
Member
*
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 346
I had a strong tone from the 66 punc down to the keystone jack so that eliminated any cut in the wiring. dsy/csu card in router in alarm mode. The smart jack is red in alarm. Used a loop back to test smart jack alarm light went green. Loop back test of keystone jack at wall plate smartjack was red in alarm. cat5 cable white/blue , blue,white and white orange,orange white match same pair colors on cat5 horizontal cable. But on jeystone jack the pairs colors matched with termination points on keystone jack following the 568B standard. I need to know, what pair NUMBER at the jack port number on Smart Jack is the correct pair? I could NOT get the smart jack out of alarm no matter what wire combination. I tried. Thanks

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: What is the proper wire squence from smart jack to 66 to keystone jack?
surdel #637722 08/01/20 06:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,389
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,389

Last edited by jeffmoss26; 08/01/20 06:33 PM.

Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Re: What is the proper wire squence from smart jack to 66 to keystone jack?
surdel #637756 08/03/20 01:41 AM
Joined: Sep 2018
Posts: 63
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2018
Posts: 63
Fyi, strong tone doesnt eliminate possibility of an open unless you can short the pair to cancel the tone out

Re: What is the proper wire squence from smart jack to 66 to keystone jack?
surdel #637758 08/03/20 02:22 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,519
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,519
Likes: 1
Also strong tone doesn't indicate a proper wire mapping.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Re: What is the proper wire squence from smart jack to 66 to keystone jack?
surdel #637763 08/03/20 04:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,236
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,236
Please refer to my response to your other post on this subject.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: What is the proper wire squence from smart jack to 66 to keystone jack?
surdel #637787 08/04/20 03:57 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,260
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,260
Do a continuity test on the pins 1,2,4 and 5 from the jack to the 66 block using your toner. You might have an open on one of the pairs.

Re: What is the proper wire squence from smart jack to 66 to keystone jack?
surdel #637788 08/04/20 06:48 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,236
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,236
I'm not sure if I made myself clear in my other posts. If this circuit is truly a T1 as you mentioned, which is for Local area data channels/subrate digital services, you should have your signal on pins 1, 2, 7 and 8 straight through.

Only a true 1.544 Mbps digital services circuit, such as a PRI, uses pins 1, 2, 4 and 5. Are you sure that this isn't your problem?

Should you be using the white/brown pair and not the white/blue pair? I know it's easy to refer to any circuit as a "T1", just like the way people use "RJ45" for any 8P8C plug/jack. Is it really a regular T1?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: What is the proper wire squence from smart jack to 66 to keystone jack?
surdel #637792 08/04/20 03:41 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,275
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,275
Ed, since it is on a "Smart Jack", it it 99% going to be on 1&2 and 4&5. Since OP has a loopback plug that turns the light from Red to Green, he should be able to either see or suss out with an ohm meter which pins are looping back to which.

He could also just terminate all 4 pairs of his "horizontal cable" on a 568-B jack right next to the Smart Jack, 568-B at the far end, test it end to end with his cable tester, use a regular patch cord from the Smart Jack to the first jack, and he will be golden at the far end.

Yes, burning 2 pairs that aren't needed, but covering whatever situation might arise in the pinout of the Smart Jack.

Last edited by Touch Tone Tommy; 08/04/20 03:43 PM.
Re: What is the proper wire squence from smart jack to 66 to keystone jack?
surdel #637800 08/05/20 02:06 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,236
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,236
Tom, I know I'm probably beating a dead horse, but card mounting units are designed to provide either RJ48C/X or RJ48S, depending upon the card installed in the slot. I keep asking the question because the chances of a voice-grade circuit running to a wall plate in an office are pretty unlikely. These (ISDN/PRI) circuits likely terminate on a system of some sort, not in someone's office. A DDS circuit (T1) terminating on a wall plate in an office for data use sounds a lot more likely. I agree that either type of RJ48 can be accommodated by a standard 568B extension, but in his description of what's happening, the white/blue pair doesn't appear to be doing anything. Since only the blue and orange pairs have actually been connected, my conspiracy theory may hold some validity.

I keep bringing up the RJ48S scenario because I was called upon to extend one at a check cashing place using what we all assume was a 1,2,4,5 pattern and it turned out that my assumption was wrong. It was mighty embarrassing when I had to be corrected by a Verizon repair technician to use the white/brown pair and not the white/blue.

We haven't heard back from the OP, so we may never know what it turned out to be.

PS: I have a loop back plug that accommodates both RJ48C/X and RJ48S. I got it from a Bell Atlantic technician years ago. It was made by Nevada Western. It loops 1/2 to 4/5 and 7/8 since it's either/or, but never both.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
7100 Lan Printer Error
by RM SYSTEMS - 09/28/20 02:27 PM
Caller wait list
by Hofman telekom - 09/28/20 11:27 AM
TDA50G power consumption
by kenc - 09/27/20 01:23 PM
Who's Online Now
34 members (dexman, hbiss, gertter, justbill, JBean3329, Coral Tech, metelcom, hitechcomm, BobRobert, aweaver, Hanale, nameless, RATHER BE FISHING, jab1780, Professor Shadow, Bull Tone, crazy canuck, STS E, Yoda, RM SYSTEMS, Ruben, MarvinACE, Darman951, Memphisribs, xware, Telesystems, Touch Tone Tommy, jknichols, gelehu, KRRath, Hofman telekom, ALB300, MooreTel, ABLE1), 591 guests, and 53 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,975
Posts637,354
Members49,356
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
betsy, Cabling Lady, jcorsell, MVSpeed, sherif
Newest Members
xware, Adam19871, tmr-afmk, Big Alan, simsh
49355 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 34
hbiss 12
Ruben 10
teleco 10
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners