Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Hi Dean,

Well I thought I did when I was swapping cards previously. But, just in case
I just went and and removed the station cards and inserted them one at a time
into slot 1 and then powered up. Same thing. NO SYNC

What seems odd is that when I power up with no station cards or even with no
cards at all installed the same thing is displayed on the the phone.

It would seem that the mother board is not seeing the cards at all.
But, I am really not sure if that is normal or not.

Needless to say when I installed the system 14 years ago all worked as it should and has been
flawlessly since then. Which is like anything that works till it don't!!

Any additional thoughts would be nice.

Thanks,

Les

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
The STSe KSU (3501-00 or -01) has a well-known power supply issue that causes this exact scenario. On the older 3500-00 or -01, the memory battery was the problem like clockwork and wasn't too difficult to accommodate in the field with a soldering iron. Not so with the STSe. Because the power supply components are part of the motherboard itself, it's not an easy fix, especially in the field. Your best bet is to send it in for repair to SoTel, Vertical's authorized factory service center in CT. Of course, you'll need to buy or have a replacement KSU while waiting for the repair turnaround. At least you'll get it back with all of the most current updates and ECOs.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Thanks Ed.

My customer now has a new NEC SL2100 system installed and working quite well.
They were down for about 5 days with a 2 line business phone in order to answer
customer calls. This STSe is presently in my storage shed. I was hoping or considering
that if it was a rather easy fix, such as a battery, I would swap out the DHS system in my
office that has been working for a whole lot longer than this STSe. It would seem that
will not be the case.

Again, thanks for the input and have a good week!!

Les

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
The power supply has a certain capacitor that historically goes bad with age, it was time for an upgrade.

Last edited by Derrick; 09/24/20 04:40 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 648
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 648
Likes: 1
Just to throw in my 2 cents... After you replaced the battery, did you reprogram the slots to recognize the cards? If not, the phones/ lines attached will not function and will display the "no sync" thing, because it is in default mode. Maybe I overlooked this in the post somewhere, but not sure.

Last edited by adteldon; 09/24/20 06:53 PM.

"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Hi adteldon,

The simple answer is "no" I did not. Actually do not know how to do that function.

So would you mind (re)educating me on what is needed to be done in order to give it a try??

Thanks!!

Les

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Flash 24 is where you assign cards to the slots. Flex key 4 represents the first station card slot, 5 for the second station card slot, flex key 6 for the first CO line card slot, etc. Press the key that represents the appropriate slot, then enter 02 for a digital station card + hold. Be sure to reboot the system using flash 80, button 20 for this change to take effect.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Hi Ed,

I do appreciate the assist. However, I am a bit mystified. If I power up with Ext.100 connected to the system
and I have the display showing the model and version info for the phone data and NO SYNC being displayed
and pressing any key does not change anything, how to I get in to programming??

Honesty, I don't have it powered up at the moment but when I did a couple of weeks ago I pressed some keys
and nothing happened on the display. Maybe I hit the wrong keys, I don't know. From what I was seeing the
display was just a dumb display and nothing more. Should have taken a picture at the time, but didn't.

Anyhow, given the parameters is there someway to maneuver through the Flex or Flash Keys as you describe
from Ext. 100 that will break the "NO SYNC"?? Or possibly, as I suspect I am beating a dead horse??

Thanks,

Les

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,306
Likes: 7
Les, you can try initializing the system while it is powered up by switching DIP switch #8 to the on position, pressing the reset button, waiting for the system to start and then switching #8 back off. The system might come up then, but honestly, it will only last until the next power outage.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
ABLE1 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 120
Hi Ed,

I already tried something like that?? But, I may have did it out of sequence.
I will give it another shot.

Are you saying that even with a fresh battery the initializing will only hold for
one power cycle??

Thanks,

Les

Page 2 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  EV607797, JWRacedog, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,375
Posts634,587
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
apexnetworks, blpogue, Hillyard, Silversam
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 17
dexman 12
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 5 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5