Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 46
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 46
We have several 7100's out there on v5.01 with SIP trunks. What I'm finding is that if the internet connection to the customer is dropped for a period of time, even when the outside internet is restored - the SIP trunk will not re-register. The customer will call me and I'll log into the system at 5.2.13 and change from Enable to Disable, then save. Wait a few seconds and change from Disable to Enable.

The trunk will register within about 20 seconds and will be fine again - until internet drops and comes back up and the same issue presents again.

Thanks

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,921
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,921
What do the logs show as the reason for the failure?

I had this issue with 4.8x and 4.9x.

Do you have dns servers programmed into 5.6.1?

What is the setting in 2.1.x about dns set to (can't remember where the setting is) ? .the setting is called something like multi dns?
This makes it use the dns servers in 5.2.13 and 5.6.1 and controls which order they are used in.

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 46
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 46
I think I've had this issue on and off for years unfortunately. 5.6.1 have no entries. 2.1.5 Multi-DNS is disabled.

The only DNS I'm using is in the SIP trunk settings itself 5.2.13 and have DNS1 as 8.8.8.8 and DNS2 as 8.8.4.4.

Thanks

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,921
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,921
Try putting the ip address of the server in the registration server, leave the dns for the proxy server

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 46
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 46
Sorry - not clear on what your saying. Could you elaborate?

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,921
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,921
Send me a photo of the sip trunk settings page and I'll explain better
Or send me a download and I'll make the changes and send it back to you

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 232
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 232
5.6.1 have no entries. 2.1.5 Multi-DNS is disabled.

Enter both DNS 1 and 2 Enable Multi-DNS

See if hte system re-establishes SIP Trunks after reboot.


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,519
Posts635,345
Members49,569
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
kknight, Robinson Neidhardt
Newest Members
Implementing1A2, DLP, jaywin, dust0vich, Edward Clark
49,569 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 13
dexman 7
getcit 4
Who's Online Now
4 members (Curlycord, Carl Navarro, eos90066, Toner), 29 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5