Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
problem with a new CO line on a Panasonic KX-T30810
#638318 09/20/20 09:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 14
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 14
My venerable self-installed Panasonic KX-T30810 has worked fine at home for almost 30 years. But recently one of the three CO lines won't generate a dial tone, regardless of which CO port on the KX-T it is plugged into. The other two CO lines work fine on all three KX-T ports.

I suspect that AT&T recently changed my physical copper pair, or what it is connected to in their CO. The killer is that the new line works fine with a modern touchtone phone, so of course the AT&T tech resolves my trouble report with "no trouble found" and says the problem is with my equipment.

When I use the KX-T to dial on the line without a dial tone, I get CO error messages like "Your call did not go through", or "It is not necessary to dial a 1 when dialing this number". If I just leave it off hook without dialing anything, it says "Your call did not go through" rather than the usual "If you'd like to make a call...". So the CO line is seeing something, but not liking what it sees.

I measure the on-hook voltage at the DMARC as 51.9V, and the off-hook voltage as 6.8V.

Any idea what's going on? Is there some modification I can make to the KX-T to make it compatible with the new CO line? Is there some way I can describe to the AT&T tech how the CO line needs to be different, or what's wrong with it?

Len, an engineer end-user

PS: Sorry for posting in "General", but I can't figure out how to post in the Panasonic forum.

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: problem with a new CO line on a Panasonic KX-T30810
LenShustek #638319 09/20/20 10:07 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 3,993
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 3,993
Did you check the cross connect or what ever you are using from the AT&T demark to CO port

Re: problem with a new CO line on a Panasonic KX-T30810
LenShustek #638320 09/20/20 10:40 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,266
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,266
Quote
When I use the KX-T to dial on the line without a dial tone, I get CO error messages like "Your call did not go through", or "It is not necessary to dial a 1 when dialing this number". If I just leave it off hook without dialing anything, it says "Your call did not go through" rather than the usual "If you'd like to make a call...". So the CO line is seeing something, but not liking what it sees.

Obviously then the line IS going off hook. It sounds to me like either your system is seizing the line without your lifting a handset or there is something else on that line like an alarm dialer that is stuck off hook. Could also be bad wiring, a corroded jack, etc.

What happens when you call that line? Do you get a busy?

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Re: problem with a new CO line on a Panasonic KX-T30810
LenShustek #638323 09/21/20 01:01 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 319
Likes: 1
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 319
Likes: 1
You said that it works fine with a touch tone phone. Where are you plugging in the touch tone phone?


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Re: problem with a new CO line on a Panasonic KX-T30810
Daniel #638327 09/21/20 02:40 PM
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 14
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 14
(Ah, I can reply now -- thanks, hitechcomm!)

- I don't think it's bad wiring, because when I swap lines at the DMARC, the problem moves to a different CO line on the KX-T.

- When I call the bad line from outside, it rings normally through the KX-T and I can answer it and talk on any of the eight KX-T7020 feature phones.

- The only other thing that I know was on the CO line was a "Whooz Calling" caller ID box, but I've removed it.

- When I test with a touch tone phone, I'm plugging the cable that normally plugs into the KX-T switch into the phone. So all the same house wiring is being used. (Of course it also works when I plug the phone directly into the DMARC.)

- The house wiring *is* the usual 50-year-old messy kludge, so maybe I'll try running a new clean test line from the DMARC to the KX-T and see if that changes anything.

Last edited by LenShustek; 09/21/20 02:44 PM.
Re: problem with a new CO line on a Panasonic KX-T30810
LenShustek #638328 09/21/20 04:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,266
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,266
Quote
- When I test with a touch tone phone, I'm plugging the cable that normally plugs into the KX-T switch into the phone. So all the same house wiring is being used. (Of course it also works when I plug the phone directly into the DMARC.)

You say that you can move that line to other CO ports on your KSU and still have the problem? Or is it only on one port?

-Hal

Last edited by hbiss; 09/21/20 04:11 PM.

CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Re: problem with a new CO line on a Panasonic KX-T30810
hbiss #638330 09/21/20 05:16 PM
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 14
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 14
The problem (no dial tone) happens on whichever of the CO ports on the KSU I plug that central office line into.

Re: problem with a new CO line on a Panasonic KX-T30810
LenShustek #638332 09/21/20 08:44 PM
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 14
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by LenShustek
- The house wiring *is* the usual 50-year-old messy kludge, so maybe I'll try running a new clean test line from the DMARC to the KX-T and see if that changes anything.

Ok, I did that experiment, with a fresh pair directly from the "bad" line in the DMARC box to the CO inputs of the KX-T30810. On any of the three CO inputs, the behavior is the same: no dial tone on pickup, but calls are received ok. Plugging that fresh pair into a touchtone phone works fine.

The other CO lines in the DMARC work fine on all three CO inputs to the KX-T30810.

There's something about that CO line that is incompatible with the KSU, but that's not a complaint that AT&T will listen to since it works with a "regular" phone.

Re: problem with a new CO line on a Panasonic KX-T30810
LenShustek #638333 09/21/20 09:59 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 3,993
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 3,993
Lenshustek

Your welcome.

There's something were missing here.
Let me think. (That's not easy)

Re: problem with a new CO line on a Panasonic KX-T30810
LenShustek #638335 09/21/20 10:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Offline
Moderator-Panasonic
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,537
It needs to be asked Is the KSU set to tone dialing?


There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
nickname for cabling scraps? mongol?
by temp001 - 10/29/20 04:18 AM
SL1100 dialing problem
by teleco - 10/28/20 07:30 PM
Zoom voip
by BrianS - 10/28/20 01:43 PM
Forum Update Pending
by Ruben - 10/27/20 06:51 PM
Toshiba DK 280 VMID
by adteldon - 10/27/20 04:18 PM
Who's Online Now
27 members (Joel J., Curlycord, buttercool, BobRobert, juno, MooreTel, Skunky, R4+Z, temp001, metelcom, newtecky, ChrisRR, phonemeister, Mercenary Roadie, Yoda, justbill, paulw, hitechcomm, EV607797, Silversam, hbiss, phonman123, dexman, Farquie, Touch Tone Tommy, JBean3329, Ted), 266 guests, and 97 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,037
Posts637,697
Members49,370
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
dpmcintyre, mcando
Newest Members
DynaAdmin, Nickonicle, chelsea419, jsb15, C.t.c.73
49369 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
Ruben 12
Daniel 11
Toner 10
hbiss 10
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners