Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
DTMF digits echoing
#638379 09/24/20 03:25 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
We have an Adix system that connects to another via an IPNet card - not sure if I'm using the right term, 4 channels via the network, in the db shown as Digital E&M Tie. When pressing 9 or a Line key calls route via those channels to a PRI in the ECS on the school campus. If the destination has a menu requiring DTMF digits, the Adix site can't successfully send digits. The initial call always completes successfully.

If the called destination prompts to press 1 and 1 is pressed from a digital phone, the result will be "11 is not a valid extension" - same with other digits. When listening - pressing a digit will result in a solid half second or so of the tone followed by the same DTMF tone maybe a quarter of second or less in duration.
It doesn't happen with local COs in the Adix. Doesn't happen if I manually dial an IPNet trunk followed by an access code of a local analog trunk in the ECS.
It's only when the call routes normally to an IPNet trunk to the ECS and goes out over the ECS's PRI. Supposedly back in January a reset of the ECS resolved the trouble - but I'm not so sure, it's just what I was told. Like in January, I reset the Adix and scheduled the ECS to reset that evening, same results. For now I asked the customer to use an access code for a local CO in the Adix when placing a call to the business with a menu.

I even went to another school several miles away to simulate the routing. Selected an IPNet trunk, then 9 + our office, the called party heard the double digits. That school and another typically route over their local COs so they don't have the trouble. At this point we're not sure what to try next. Maybe there was some kind of network QOS change?

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: DTMF digits echoing
Keyset6 #638388 09/24/20 11:15 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,681
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,681
Used to see this problem a lot on PRIs, but with SLT station dialing. The fix was to deny Dial-On-Conversation (Stations>SLT>Dial-On_Conversation). I haven't fooled with an IPNet trunk in over 10 years, but do seem to recall they acted as an analog-type of connection. Try setting ALL of your SLT ports to Deny for that setting. It's counter-intuitive, I know, but try it and see.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Re: DTMF digits echoing
JBean3329 #638406 09/26/20 01:52 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
The only SLT ports aren't really SLTs, but Digital VMOP which go to the Esna voicemail in another building. The Dial On Conv. for those are set to Deny.

Thanks for the info though, was not aware of that setting. There's not a lot of phones on this Adix, classrooms and a couple offices including unfortunately the nurse's office - she routinely accesses a medical facility with a menu. The main office and I.T. office have 5910 ip phones off the main ECS in another nearby building, which don't have the trouble. For now, or for good we may need to give the nurse an IP phone, and use up one of the licenses in our pool.

Re: DTMF digits echoing
Keyset6 #638416 09/27/20 02:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,681
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,681
You can make the same setting change for digital phones in Stations>Outdial (CO). Worth a try...you just need to set the change for ALL stations of the type IIRC

Last edited by JBean3329; 09/27/20 02:56 PM.

Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Re: DTMF digits echoing
Keyset6 #638445 09/29/20 01:33 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 239
Oh yea - I do see digital stations have the parameter too. Yes worth a try, thanks.


Moderated by  Jadix, JBean3329 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Are you an Asterisk Ace?
by Toner - 10/22/20 03:39 PM
SVMI Card settings backup & restore
by Hofman telekom - 10/21/20 01:46 PM
IPOffice remote voice mail access
by Brian A - 10/21/20 11:41 AM
Also looking for Crossbar PBX
by Joe Talbot - 10/21/20 08:40 AM
You'll LOVE this... Looking for Dimension tapes
by Joe Talbot - 10/21/20 08:34 AM
Who's Online Now
34 members (dexman, Toner, Touch Tone Tommy, chelsea419, Roscoe, Iwatsu Guru, Professor Shadow, jsb15, KRRath, nwilliams, Curlycord, DD782, Ruben, jsaad, metelcom, Hofman telekom, Edward_, jknichols, mongo5150, Joe Talbot, MooreTel, Brian A, Skunky, nameless, ssdr9163, Bob3470, EV607797, justbill, Mercenary Roadie, BobRobert, ffej010, hbiss, hitechcomm, nortelvoip), 382 guests, and 60 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,022
Posts637,603
Members49,367
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
DSIDAVE, Tom Lynden
Newest Members
jsb15, C.t.c.73, Farquie, 4teltech, TRIM IT
49366 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
Ruben 15
hbiss 12
Daniel 10
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners