Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#638457 09/30/20 11:41 AM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 419
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 419
I have a customer with all IP Phones and Comcast Analog lines They have been having intermittent problems with the outside lines Comcast came out and did not find any thing on there end

both of these lines are stand alone lines no call forwarding or hunting with carrier when there in use you should get a busy tone if you the 2nd caller if no one is on the line they go to a voicemail box

I remember working at this site a while back where line 9 was busy but no one was on it i think it was locked up by one the voice mail ports


I remember upgrading the software thinking that this would resolve issue

I went back out there yesterday they were complaining about a similar issue with line 1 & line 9

the software was at 8.65 I was able to upgrade to 10.65

I was looking at the field complaints and they seemed to mention the same or similar field complaints in all the releases

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,053
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,053
Confused. Are you using the system voicemail or Comcast voicemail? Also make sure you don't have any alarm circuits connected to these. Also, how busy are they?

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 419
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 419
System Voice Mail .They have 9 lines from Comcast they have been getting complaints from customers that when the call into one of the numbers (Line 1) which is a stand alone line "They get nothing " that's from the customer ...there a little eccentric

I remember going there a while back and there was a problem with line 9 its just on one extension set up like a private line there was no one on the line but when I pressed the button I got a busy signal I upgraded the software to 8.65 the latest at the time




I am just going to wait and see if it was software related I have them at 10.60


Thanks for responding !

JD

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,053
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,053
Sounds like buttset and test set time. I have seen these boxes get so busy that they cannot get enough cap charge to ring at a good enough voltage causing issues. I mean you could have a bad co port but on these EMTA boxes that's rare. I've seen where they have call waiting going on and all that nonsense that can cause issues with an AA.

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 210
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 210
Is this Inmail? We usually set Time Out to disconnect on the DAT's. Happens on FIOS a lot...

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 559
Likes: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 559
Likes: 2
Sounds to me like you have allowed trunk to trunk transfer and the lines aren't clearing down so a call coming into line 1 gets transferred out on line 9 and subsequently the system thinks line 1 is connected to line 9 so nothing happens on the system for future incoming calls!

In Oz I would say check 14-02-18 as the carrier returns busy tone on remote end cleardown and this tells the system to release the connections (works every time for me). Not sure if this works in the US, give it a try! There is also a way to cleardown after a timeout but it isn't anywhere near as good as the problem can exist for however long your time out is set to eg 20 second call 30 min timeout means 29 min 40 seconds of issue! However set too short results in some calls being dropped.


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,519
Posts635,345
Members49,569
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
kknight, Robinson Neidhardt
Newest Members
Implementing1A2, DLP, jaywin, dust0vich, Edward Clark
49,569 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 13
dexman 7
getcit 4
Who's Online Now
4 members (Curlycord, Carl Navarro, eos90066, Toner), 29 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5