EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Global Test Supply
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
eCommerce website for sale!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#638558 10/09/20 03:58 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,301
Likes: 5
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,301
Likes: 5
I have a customer with an XTS-600 system who is experiencing failures of 12-port analog station cards, but ONLY in cabinet #2 (the third one). When these cards go bad, there is nothing on the ports, no dial tone, no battery, nothing. These ports can be called, but there's no talk path or ringing battery present on them. The system still allows the ports to be programmed as valid resources. Lately, I've just been using those dead ports for virtual extensions, etc.

The only thing that these cards have in common is that they've been pulled and replaced on a live system. The system is in a hospital, so powering it down for a card replacement isn't much of an option. The ones that failed (slots 2-0 and 2-3) were replaced with known good cards, but the same result occurred immediately. New card, all ports dead.

I know that the XTS system's predecessors and sister systems, such as the DVXplus II, III and XTSc have labeling indicating that NO cards can be changed without powering down the system. The XTS does not have these warnings. It was my understanding that the XTS systems DO allow for hot-swapping of cards. I remember in some other Vodavi systems, the documentation warned about issues with the ring generator connection or replacement on a live system. I don't see these warnings in the XTS documentation though.

I have a feeling that these cards are failing only because we're changing them on a live system. Other cards, such as PRIB, DTIB, etc. seem to work fine upon replacement. I'm a bit leery about replacing another failed SLIB-E card without confirming this concern. My next step is to replace the cabinet itself, but that's a chore that I really don't want to do on a live system since about 84 stations will be out of service during such.

Can anyone confirm the ability to hot-swap these cards? Better yet, can anyone offer any suggestions for my dilemma?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 648
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 648
Likes: 1
I tried this many years ago, and I recall that I had issues as well. I don't remember exactly what went wrong as it has been many years. It is my understanding that NO cards should ever be swapped in ANY Vodavi system, while the system is powered up. I have never done so ever since. Might have to do a 3 am swap and hope the battery on the processor is good? Maybe just power down the 3rd cabinet?


"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"

Moderated by  EV607797, JWRacedog, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,295
Posts634,126
Members49,497
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
evanclarke, miphoneguy, nbenadom, Rob_n_WV, Rooster75
Newest Members
NZAndy101, spunkysam, tn00247167, Dave McCann, Mitel Hotel
49,496 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 10
Toner 6
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
14 members (mongo5150, RATHER BE FISHING, jeffmoss26, nortelvoip, hitechcomm, Yoda, Silversam, Touch Tone Tommy, Professor Shadow, Ruben, BobRobert, justbill, metelcom, OBT), 120 guests, and 41 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud