Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#638824 11/04/20 11:07 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
baytel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Hi,
I was task to move this client's analog phone lines from AT&T over to Xfinity. What I noticed is that although the line is active on the AT&T binding post, I'm not able to get a dial tone straight from my butt set. I know the line is there because when I unplug the line from the phone system I lose the phone line from an extension. Does the NEC Aspire have a very low dial tone or so on AT&T and that's why I can't hear dial tone straight on the binding post? Is it specially configured from AT&T. Plus I see some transistor plugs into the terminal block on each incoming lines,. What's that for?

Last edited by baytel; 11/04/20 11:08 AM.
Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,450
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,450
You might have ground start lines from AT&T.
Connect your butt set to one of the AT&T lines, go off hook, take some wire and ground one of the leads on the butt set, see if you get dial tone.


We get old too soon, smart too late
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,731
Likes: 9
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,731
Likes: 9
I believe if you look in programming 14-02-14 Analog Trunk Data Setup- Loop Start/Ground Start you can verify the status.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
baytel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Thank you for the tip guys, I really appreciate your response. Well we migrated the lines over to Xfinity yesterday and the calls are coming in just fine into the NEC. We unfortunately can't call out! It must have to due with the ground start. What's the reason for having ground start (for my own knowledge)? I am able to get a dial-tone from an extension but after I start dialing a local number on the phone display it shows "vacant number." ??? Any suggestions? And when I hang up on the call the line looks like is still off-hook because I get a busy tone when I call the line from outside. So the NEC is not releasing the line. Do I need to turn off "ground start" in programming? Or do I need to contact Xfinity and tell them to put a ground start on the lines?

Last edited by baytel; 11/06/20 05:38 PM.
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,053
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,053
Yes you need to turn off the ground start and change to loop start. Before loop start lines got better disconnect supervision, ground start was needed. Ground start is still superior but the standard is loop start with disconnect supervision from the telephone company.

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
baytel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Thank you everyone. I changed in the system to loop start and the phone line interference issue is gone! An Xfinity technician came out but said they can't or don't know how to give the line a ground start. It was expected.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,731
Likes: 9
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,731
Likes: 9
Thanks for the update.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,519
Posts635,345
Members49,569
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
kknight, Robinson Neidhardt
Newest Members
Implementing1A2, DLP, jaywin, dust0vich, Edward Clark
49,569 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 14
dexman 7
getcit 4
Who's Online Now
3 members (Curlycord, Carl Navarro, ShawnC), 19 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5