EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Global Test Supply
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
eCommerce website for sale!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#639294 12/16/20 03:08 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 298
conxtel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 298
Had a site that the system will randomly lock up and stop processing calls and displays on all phones will go blank. System has to be removed from network, powered down and restarted to return to service.

Looking in the alarm log, the only issue we see is IP Collision. NTAC said to run a Wireshark test to look for any ARP probing to 0.0.0.0, which we actually did find. The customer's camera system was doing exactly that. Disconnected it and the ARP probe stopped. System ran great for another week and did it again. Alarm log still only shows an IP Collision. There is nothing probing to 0.0.0.0 and we have scanned the network to look for a duplicate IP address but nothing is showing up.

NTAC wants Wireshark logs from normal use as well as one from when it fails. There is no rhyme or reason as to when it fails so trying to start it before it fails is tough.

Anybody ever had anything similar?

System is a SV9100 CP10, version 10.60.53 with Netlink plus two IP terminals so removing from the network for any length of time isn't an option.

Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,426
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,426
The traces NTAC is asking for will tell them what is causing the lock ups, as you already know. Getting the Whireshark trace when the system locks up is the problem, if you don't have a spare laptop try to borrow one. You won't have to knock the Netlink or the IP terminals off line (only for a short time for setup) to perform the trace.
Have the customer call you as soon as the system locks up and have them stop the trace after the 9100 boots up.
Good luck.


We get old too soon, smart too late
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 15
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 15
I would bet something on the network is spamming the NEC causing it to lock up.

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 25
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 25
If your phone isn't on it's own VLAN it needs to be. We ran into issues like that in the past just from all the trash on the regular data LAN. We won't install a system without a VLAN in place any longer.

Last edited by iatech3800; 12/17/20 10:01 PM.

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,320
Posts634,238
Members49,509
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
effedisk, hellbender, Pat Amaral, Zip
Newest Members
Topekaks101, Contoso, Nick Smithler, MortifiedPenguin, T Top Manufactur
49,509 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 7
Ruben 3
dexman 3
pvj 1
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
22 members (newtecky, EV607797, JBean3329, pdxjim911, Toner, justbill, gelehu, Yoda, Curlycord, dexman, Touch Tone Tommy, Amy DeBruyne, KRRath, Ruben, nfcphoneman, Memphisribs, Professor Shadow, vicbob, RM SYSTEMS, MooreTel, BobRobert, Skunky), 489 guests, and 112 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud