Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Hi y'all,
Is it possible to put multiple voicemail cards in a system? We have a problem at our Covid19 vaccination center. we are getting 1,500 calls per day and I only have 10 employees at the call center. I have a 4 port VMAC card. WE have a 24circiut PRI and with the volume of calls we are getting a buttload of inbound busies.
it is an adix IX-CMM
thanks
Ed

GA
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,066
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,066
Yes, in some systems. tihs is how you increase VM ports. Don't know about yours

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,691
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,691
The VMAC card maxes out at 4 ports. Your system won't support a second vmail card, but there are other versions available that have 8 ports. You need vendor for this. Once a call is answered the voicemail port releases. If you keep getting callers with busy signals, it means you have more calls ringing at a time that aren't being answered. Another solution might be to add ACD capabilities, but this can be as expensive as replacing the voicemail card with a larger card.

Last edited by JBean3329; 01/18/21 10:14 PM.

Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
THANKS For the help,
so if i bought a IX-4EVML to add to the VMAC a dealer would need to install? I am not a dealer and my dealer said that adix stopped supporting them. I have about 20 years experience with these systems, having been sys admin for 15 systems
around Brevard county
Ed

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,627
Likes: 2
Admin
*****
Online Thinking
Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,627
Likes: 2
Originally Posted by sketchypro
THANKS For the help,
so if i bought a IX-4EVML to add to the VMAC a dealer would need to install? I am not a dealer and my dealer said that adix stopped supporting them. I have about 20 years experience with these systems, having been sys admin for 15 systems around Brevard county
Ed
Clarification, please. Admin as what is limited to Admin privileges or Admin with Installer/Programmer privileges? There is a HUGE knowledge based difference.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
ok
when I say admin
i mean top dog
ordering all telephony/lan/wan/man services from vendors
cable plant install
installer
programmer
design
troubleshooting
38 years experience starting with 1A2 and also ATT merlin

I just ask here when I have something esoteric or something stumps me
ed

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,691
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,691
The VMAC card is NOT upgrade-able. The VMAC was designed to allow a full-size system owner to use the IX-VML voicemail card designed for the ADIX VS. It is merely a piggy-back card so the smaller IX-VML will fit in the full size cabinet. You'll first need to acquire an IX-4EVMC256 or 4EVMC512 card, then add the 4EVML card to that for a total of 8 ports.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
thanks for the explanation,
and I apologize for NOT reading the tech manual more closely. all for naught, this project was officially cancelled as of 10 pm last night. (wonder what we are going to do with the PRI circuit we ordered?)

The State of Florida will not supply us with covid vaccine (we are ready to vaccinate 2,400 ppl a day) but that issue is for another forum in another place,

thanks again
keep these forum(s) going for all of us with antique systems!!!
Ed

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 248
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 248
Plenty of Iwatsu systems still out there. We had to add a couple of SIP ATAs at a medical site and install 4 or so trunks into the 408 cards in the ECS. They've had a PRI for years, before that I assume analog trunks since they had 408 cards. Like many places, they require patients to call before entering the building.
Callers were getting busies big time before adding the trunks.

I went over the Call Processing menu of another medical facility. We were getting frequent busies to the main number while testing off site. I suggested they re-record the very lengthy main greeting to include the new Covid info option first to try to get callers to listen to what they need, then hang up to release the trunk,

Our in-house test ECS voicemail has the 4 port expansion card installed. Off hand don't know which model the voicemail card is. As old as the system is, we have another ECS customer who wants to add 5 more IP phones, preferably 5900s. The IP Icon phones are especially getting hard to come by.

I've heard now that vaccine rollouts are underway - websites also are experiencing trouble due to so much traffic.

Last edited by Keyset6; 01/20/21 05:56 PM.
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
"websites" I setup a google voice and forwarded the Covid 19 vax line out to them........
i have 8 accounts and in 36 hours we have received 2,983 inbound voicemails
no busies (well I don't know that for sure)

Ed


Moderated by  Jadix, JBean3329 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Coaxial Cable
by dexman - 03/04/21 03:53 AM
Netlink or CCIS
by Yoda - 03/02/21 02:32 PM
SX200 ICP & ASU Bad ports
by Barrontel - 03/02/21 03:15 AM
NEC SV8100 Inmail Utility
by Sam Juniper - 03/01/21 11:02 PM
IP office and routing calling groups
by High Mesa Communications - 03/01/21 10:56 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,282
Posts639,048
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
oldtimer1
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
Ruben 22
pvj 11
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
31 members (phonemeister, sundance, byacey, dexman, RATHER BE FISHING, justbill, hitechcomm, Mercenary Roadie, newtecky, BobRobert, hbiss, jeffmoss26, oldpoleclimber, JBean3329, Touch Tone Tommy, kjwiewall, High Mesa Communications, Coral Tech, dans, telecom guy10, Daniel, Canteleco, Ruben, Yoda, nfcphoneman, Joel J., Bob3470, Avidcomm, Professor Shadow, pvj, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech), 625 guests, and 46 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners