EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Global Test Supply
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
eCommerce website for sale!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#640833 05/01/21 05:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,216
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,216
i bought my first summit 100 and i think i got a bad one. line one and two have dial tone whether i have co lines plugged in or not. sounds like icm dialtone. lines 3 and 4 get busy signal even if i plug in a line. i reseated the co card and defaulted the system again and still does the same thing. any ideas that may help. thanks dave

Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,216
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,216
problem solved

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,142
Likes: 2
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,142
Likes: 2
Glad we could help......

What did you do to fix it

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,301
Likes: 5
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,301
Likes: 5
I'm not a big fan of posts here with no solution shared, so I'll try to elaborate upon what I think happened. First, I believe it's a Summit 80 cabinet. By default, CO lines 5 and 6 are IP channels, meaning that the system generates dial tone for IP networking right out of the box. Next, the CO line connectors are wired like RJ48X jacks for only two lines each. Pins 1/2 are line #1; pins 4/5 are line 2. The same follows for the jack for lines 3 and 4. The system auto detects the presence of CO lines and if there's no battery on them, it won't allow access to them.

Also by default, the initial four lines, plus IP "lines" 5 and 6 are in CO line group 1 for some reason. Right out of the box, the system needs to be programmed so that these lines are placed into a different group. Next, the four copper lines 1-4 need to be connected and programmed into the proper group for access.

What I suspect is that the copper CO line ports were not wired properly (maybe like an RJ14), so access to them wasn't being allowed. When dialing 9, the system always grabs the highest line number, which would have been line 6. This would happen even if the copper lines were wired correctly, but that's another subject. This explains why they were receivng dial tone even with no lines connected yet.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,216
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,216
the system is a summit and the solution was reseating the co card twice. guess it wasnt getting a good connection. reseat the card and initialize the system so it will see the co card. i have had this happen 3 times and know of another tech had the same problem. seat them in deep but you may have to give it a second or third go if still having trouble.


Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,300
Posts634,164
Members49,501
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
Geli, wlampert, borgIT, Nadeemkhattak, NZAndy101
49,500 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 9
Toner 7
Ruben 4
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
14 members (Geli, RATHER BE FISHING, nortelvoip, Mercenary Roadie, Carl Navarro, hitechcomm, BobRobert, Yoda, EV607797, Silversam, Tip&Ring, nameless, Ruben, JGN), 154 guests, and 38 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud