EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Daily Excellence
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#641041 06/10/21 09:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 10
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 10
I need to make sure that none of the lines coming into my PBX are allowing access over a modem for management. I have found a few that give me the modem squall (I manually dialed every single DID). How can I tell if the line is used for a fax vs embedded modem for management or whatever in the PBX?

By management, I mean eManager, but don't know if there is any other management protocols that might exist.

Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,596
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,596
Likes: 1
List all your DIDs by going to DID Table view. If the DID goes to the PBX internal modem, then it tells you in the table. You can also export this to CSV. Be aware that the previous installer could also have a way through the voicemail system by setting up a transfer mailbox. I don't know what type of voicemail system you have. For Toshiba voicemail, it could be an IVP8, Stratagy ES, or a MAS.

Also, look for DISA in the table view. Unless users specifically need DISA access, I would remove it.

Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 10
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 10
We did have an outside line that went to the DID for built-in modem. For now I redirect that on the gateway that sits between this PBX and the provider...I redirect it to my IP PBX and terminate the call. DISA appears to be disabled on trunk, so I guess I don't have to worry about that.

We have the IVP8 VM cards, how can I look for the transfer to the modem? How about authentication, how is that handled for that modem connection?

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,596
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,596
Likes: 1
I'll send a private message about the transfer mailbox, but what I would do first is change the security code for mailbox 999. I would typically be more concerned about hackers than the previous installer.


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,457
Posts640,016
Members49,481
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
CODzilla, desertrat, gulledas, hs phone guy, JP_Texas, Klerik, Matt Andrews, Robert18, Team Freddy, terminal
Newest Members
Goracing57, Michael Duffy, Jim22, hummerdave, Rusenga D
49,481 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 34
Ruben 9
OBT 5
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
22 members (hbiss, dexman, metelcom, justbill, Mercenary Roadie, Touch Tone Tommy, BobRobert, sundance, BrianS, JBean3329, Keyset6, hitechcomm, Bushmills, Yoda, zoomo, Professor Shadow, TNTJEFF, mongo5150, Skunky, 3 invisible), 313 guests, and 173 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud