Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#641612 11/01/21 08:00 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 257
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 257
Hey Folks,

Is there a trick to getting an IP phone to connect both inside the office and from outside?
We have two MIPU, one on the internal network and one with a dedicated public IP.

Is it as simple as having the phone register to the MIPU with the public IP?

Cheers,

-B

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,376
Likes: 9
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,376
Likes: 9
Always registering to the external IP would be the simplest way. I don't remember if Toshiba phones accept a domain name rather than IP, but if so - the best way would be to use split DNS where the domain name resolves to the internal IP when on the LAN, and the external IP anywhere else.

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,622
Likes: 3
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,622
Likes: 3
Only IP addresses in the Toshiba IP phones. No DNS, domain names.
You can set 2 IP addresses in a phone, the primary and the secondary. What I have done is set the internal IP address to the primary, and the secondary IP address as the public WAN. When it fails on the primary, it will try the secondary IP address.

As mentioned, you can also just use the public WAN IP address for internal IP phones in most cases.

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 257
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 257
Further question,

A system has an internal MIPU and one with a public address.
Phones registering on the internal address seem to have to have the PDN equipment number set to the one of the internal MIPU and then when they are outside the network, the primary ipu address(internal) fails and but the secondary (public on the 2nd mipu) using the public address of the second MIPU come back with a resource full error.

If I change the pdn equipment number to that of the 2nd mipu card, then the phone registers.

Is there no way configure the phone so it can connect via the internal mipu when it is in the office and the external mipu when it is outside without having to constantly change the settings in emanager?

Using the external address when in the office seems like unnecessary hops and potential for poorer call quality.

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,622
Likes: 3
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,622
Likes: 3
Set the equipment number to 0000 for IP phones to allow it to connect to either MIPU.

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 257
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 257
@newtechy

That's awesome! Did I miss that somewhere in a manual?

-W

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,622
Likes: 3
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,622
Likes: 3
Originally Posted by Bushmills
@newtechy

That's awesome! Did I miss that somewhere in a manual?

-W

I am sure it was there somewhere, or in the eManager help text.


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,514
Posts635,324
Members49,566
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
Edward Clark, HarryITELECO, Dumbassbass, Wayne Ward, Telekomms Inc.
49,565 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 11
dexman 7
getcit 4
Who's Online Now
3 members (Curlycord, justbill, KRRath), 23 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5