Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#642859 06/01/22 05:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,511
Likes: 15
Toner Online Happy OP
Admin
*****
OP Online Happy
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,511
Likes: 15
Hey all,

I just posted a blog article about whether Your Internet is Suitable for VoIP. Check it out and let me know what you think call


[Linked Image from web.atcomsystems.ca]
Looking for a VoIP Phone Canada provider? Put Atcom's valuable VoIP expertise to work for your business today!
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Toner #642864 06/01/22 11:12 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,275
Likes: 6
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,275
Likes: 6
For a beginner or novice its a good beginning.

Toner #642865 06/01/22 11:18 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,780
Likes: 8
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,780
Likes: 8
A good internet connection is an absolute necessity, obviously.

Not enough attention gets paid to network infrastructure INSIDE the building, though. It's really a must to have managed switches, not the $49 box from the big box stores to manage and properly route network traffic, with special attention given to voice traffic with VLANs created when necessary. Our salespeople learned this lesson the hard way after selling hosted VoIP to Mom and Pops with simple 4 port dumb switches. Unhappy customers always crow louder and longer than happy ones do.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Toner #642867 06/02/22 04:27 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,511
Likes: 15
Toner Online Happy OP
Admin
*****
OP Online Happy
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,511
Likes: 15
Thanks for looking guys 2thumbs

JBean - you are correct about cheap consumer grade switches and routers, they can definitely burn you sometimes. However, some of the "big guys" like Ring Central like to blame call quality issues on the LAN. They say you NEED to have QOS implemented which is something beyond the average IT guys, let alone the average small business person. In practice, call quality issues 9 times out of 10 are completely ISP related.

That being said, call completion problems or 1 way audio most often have to do with mis-configured local equipment.


[Linked Image from web.atcomsystems.ca]
Looking for a VoIP Phone Canada provider? Put Atcom's valuable VoIP expertise to work for your business today!
Toner #642872 06/02/22 10:10 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,780
Likes: 8
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,780
Likes: 8
I'm in a unique spot. My company is the local CO, a hosted provider, an IT management company AND the ISP. Most of the time, call quality issues are my fault one way or the other, unless I can prove the problem lies outside my network.

The biggest problem we see with other people's networks is LAN settings that don't disable SIP ALG or allowing the port re-mapping tendencies of some firewalls.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Toner #642876 06/03/22 03:09 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,511
Likes: 15
Toner Online Happy OP
Admin
*****
OP Online Happy
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,511
Likes: 15
Very true, mis-behaving routers can result in hair loss! I've personally observed Sonicwall routers randomly change NAT port numbers part way into a call - this obviously broke audio. Mind you, that was 10 years ago.

Which routers have you seen mess around with port re-mapping?


[Linked Image from web.atcomsystems.ca]
Looking for a VoIP Phone Canada provider? Put Atcom's valuable VoIP expertise to work for your business today!
Toner #642886 06/03/22 07:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,780
Likes: 8
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,780
Likes: 8
I prefer to keep the firewall name under my hat ( its initials are 'Sonicwall'). It still happens, but mostly because the customer's IT person isn't aware of the settings to stop it.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Toner #642891 06/04/22 02:02 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,136
Likes: 14
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,136
Likes: 14
I dumped using Sonicwalls years ago. Man they gave me head aches.


[Linked Image]
Toner #642899 06/04/22 07:47 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Former employer used to sell Soincwall...until we stopped selling on premise phone systems and went to hosted systems. They were a nightmare for VoIP. Even when everything was configured the way it was supposed to be, even with SIP ALG turned off, things tended to break. Sonicwall would suggest a firmware update, requiring after hours work to bring down the customer's network, meanwhile they think we've sold them a dud of a phone system. Support was horrible, and it was clear the sale to Dell and back again was rough on them. We dropped Sonicwall and went with Fortinet. Didn't have a single firewall related voice issue between when we switched to selling Fortinet and when I left the company.

My challenge recently has been a side customer I have (my current position is entirely internal working on Avaya Aura and managing an IT service group) that isn't large enough to justify a more expensive firewall, so they rely on their AT&T provided "residential" gateway. It has been nothing but problems. Currently working through an issue with it causing their SIP trunks to drop registration a couple times a month.

Last edited by Andyreed; 06/04/22 07:56 PM.
Toner #642909 06/09/22 02:28 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,039
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,039
Likes: 1
I've been pleased with mikrotik routers on a 4 location vpn project I recently completed. Mikrotik are very feature rich and reasonably priced. There is a learning curve and I am still learning.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,964
Posts637,403
Members49,703
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
cquillmann, genart1, OukoTech, p2ii, roundaboutrc, Shane Bohannan, techhelp, WTWC40
Newest Members
Acme Finishing, jim gray III, Merenth, Service Tech 911, Stephen A
49,703 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
vvbasti 10
jsaad 6
Who's Online Now
3 members (bretthaze, Toner, KRRath), 136 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5