Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
PMOC Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
As I've spent about 2 hours on hold for Vertical tech support I figured I may as well make a post here.

The customer has a new Summit 100 with 12 SIP trunks and 8 phone numbers. They have a small call center that makes calls out to various localities in the US. They lease numbers with local area codes for these locations and would like to have their caller ID show a matching local area code when calling their customers in these areas. I'll admit I'm still a bit ignorant on the SIP side of things, but I have managed to get everything registered and most inbound/outbound calls working.

Currently I have 5 trunks in CO group 1 for general outgoing calls using the main number, and then have the remaining 7 trunks in group 2, each assigned a different number in the COLP table 201 so that they can use these specific lines to make calls out to the appropriate local areas. I then have these 7 COs assigned to individual flex buttons on their call center phones. I'm not sure this is the most elegant solution, or if this is a great way to set-up the SIP trunks or not but it seems to work ok for the most part?

Problem #1: Outgoing calls have to have the "1" country code included before the 10 digit number otherwise the call fails to connect. I'm not sure if there is a way to tell the system to add the "1" digit if it isn't dialed, but not to add an extra "1" if the customer does dial it.

Problem #2: One of their numbers ending in 098 won't ring through properly, even though I have it assigned in the flex DID table 231 the same as the rest of the numbers. I'm not sure if this has something to do with the "0" leading digit or not?

Problem (Question?) #3: I don't exactly understand how or when calls might ring busy when using these numbers assigned and separated out from the main group. ie if I have CO 7 assigned a unique phone number in the 201 COLP table, and then assign that CO a key and use that key to dial out, then another call comes into that number - will the caller receive a busy? Or will the call just ring through to the destination in the flex table regardless because SIP doesn't care about "lines" per se?

Thanks for any assistance or input, and hope you all have a great upcoming 4th of July.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,148
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,148
1) You could use Least Cost Routing to add a 1 if only 10 digits were dialed.

2) Not sure why that is happening. You could try playing with the MSN Table (202) and see if you can route it that way.

3) The call should route through another SIP channel if one is available.

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
PMOC Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
Thank you, I will give these a try. And good to know on #3, I assumed that would be the case but wanted to confirm.

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
PMOC Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
Just a note for adding the "1" digit for dialing out. Tim at Vertical informed me you can do this by going into PGM 270 Digit Conversion Table - Index 1 - and add "9" under Dialed Digit and "91" under Changed Digit. Then under PGM 111 with all extensions selected enter "1" in the Digit Conv Table field. This will cause the phones to automatically add a 1 after 9 or a loop key is pressed to access a line to dial out. The problem is the call will fail if they dial an additional 1 (or it will try dialing an international number) and if you use 9 for outbound dialing it can cause the user to accidentally dial 911 emergency. So if you want to use this solution just make sure you change the "Access CO in First CO Group" under Flex Numbering Plan to a different digit than 9 so emergency calls aren't accidentally made, and change the PGM 270 entry accordingly.

Ultimately I stuck with telling the users to just dial a 1. I played with Least Cost Routing a bit but couldn't seem to make it work that way.

Last edited by PMOC; 07/19/22 06:08 PM.

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,820
Posts636,739
Members49,643
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Airdale, AnnetteLee, AnnettesDayIsUg, bigboy, Blackline, boomj, db Communications, gwh, samcorcione9111, Victor D.
Newest Members
julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford, Nigel S
49,642 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 12
ramo 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 10 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5