Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 62
DonaldR Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 62
I seem to remember someone mentioned using MCE (Memory Card Explorer) to copy the various Avaya Firmware/Software to PCMCIA cards.

I also seem to remember a particular person mentioned having used a Compaq computer for the task, but I cannot find the original post/thread content.

Or maybe it wasn't on this forum....

Thanks

Last edited by DonaldR; 07/05/22 11:35 AM. Reason: grammar

"Most people don't have a sense of humor. They think they do, but they don't." --Jonathan Winters
Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,216
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,216
Likes: 5
What are you trying to accomplish ?

Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 62
DonaldR Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 62
Hopefully without drifting too far off topic...

I'm find an acceptable PC mother board to install the Elan version of Memory Card Explorer as well as Ricoh's MCERICOH 1.00 for Windows XP. Both software packages are compatible with the Elan P423 Card which can among other items read/write to Linear Flash Cards, which both Avaya and Ricoh uses in their older systems.

The software seemingly has a bundle of rules for hardware compatibility.

I was hoping to use an Intel D945GNT mother board with a P4 processor. It also has SATA HDD connections. If that is not viable, I suppose a search for a P3 Motherboard will be next.

I tried installing on a fresh XP install with a Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H motherboard and Intel I5 CPU. This mother board I had previously from another purpose.

MCE started up with no conflicts. This is further than I have ever been able to get with on any other box I have here at home. MCE set-up can only include/exclude up to 8 PC slots.

The Gigabyte MB's first PC slot (closest to the CPU) is labeled #12. Obviously MCE couldn't see the Elan P423 card reader in PC slot #12. crazy shocked

I asked about this on Copytechnet and most of the replies were, (why mess with something so old). Well it works, and as long as it continues to work it won't cost me a boatload of cash to replace it....just yet. smile

The MCE manual is posted here:
MCE for Windows XP User Guide (Ricoh)

For reference the Elan P423 data is found here:
P423 PCI Bus to PC Card Read-Writers 2 Slot Internal

Last edited by DonaldR; 07/06/22 01:59 AM. Reason: additional info.

"Most people don't have a sense of humor. They think they do, but they don't." --Jonathan Winters
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,312
Likes: 2
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,312
Likes: 2
Manager allows you to format and recreate the SD card. The version of Manager and its binaries determines the release recreated on the SD card.
Any files that you need to add to the card can be done through Embedded File Management, built into Manager.
And I've uploaded files, such as configurations and PLDS license files simply using Windows File Explorer.

No idea what you are talking about or trying to accomplish above.

Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 62
DonaldR Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 62
I forgot to mention this is these Smart Modular Technologies 1mb PCMCIA cards used on earlier ATT Partner/Avaya ACS. Ricoh used their own PCMCIA 4mb card with a proprietary file format.


The card reader only recognizes the PCMCIA cards as Smart Modular Technologies. There is no driver available. I've also searched online. According to Memory Card Explorer's manual, even though Windows XP doesn't have Card Services, that doesn't matter as MCE can still read/write the cards.

The ability to save programming data from the PCMCIA card to a PC would be nice as well.


"Most people don't have a sense of humor. They think they do, but they don't." --Jonathan Winters
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,330
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,330
Likes: 3
I do remember years ago downloading ACS upgrade software and putting it on a Partner backup/restore card that then became an upgrade card. I still use that card today. I used a laptop that had that card slot. I remember having to go into reg edit after downloading to change a parameter to allow unlimited upgrades instead of a one time.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,924
Member
*****
Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,924
The guy you're asking about is Tom Daugirdas. He was able to clone linear flash cards for Partner/Magix and build an SSD to replace the mechancial hard discs used for voicemail. I haven't spoken to Tom since 2011 and the phone number that I have for him has long been disconnected.


Carry others in your climb.
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
Tim!!! welcome


I Love FEATURE 00

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,629
Posts635,879
Members49,589
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Abcomm, n1cn0c, nicnoc, reataylor
Newest Members
TVCTech, joe angi, TommyKay, 電信小吳, Partswatch
49,589 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 10
Toner 8
Yoda 5
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (dagwoodsystems), 2 guests, and 9 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5